On a happier note

There was a frost early on Thursday morning which didn’t last long, and wasn’t very hard, but seemed to affect a number of plants quite badly.  I walked round the site and noticed that asparagus, fig trees, grape vines, hydrangeas and potatoes had all suffered.  It was surprising to read on various online gardening forums and groups that even some plants that had been covered with fleeced or were in polytunnels had been affected. On the plot new growth should appear on the potatoes within a couple of weeks, and the hydrangea should soon recover.  I’m not so sure about the grape vine.

On a happier note it’s good to see the perennial cornflower (centaurea montana)  is flowering and the poached egg plant (limnanthes douglasii) flowers now appearing.

    

In the stone feature the red valerian (centranthus ruber) is growing well.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to On a happier note

  1. The asparagus here took the frost badly, as did Yacon in the cold frame. Other than that, I think we got away quite lightly, although it was a bit of a surprise to have to start scraping ice off the car again. Lovely to see poached egg plants flowering!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Same here poached egg plants just starting to flower, asparagus escaped the frost as I had picked the spears the day before let’s hope that’s the last frost.

  3. Liz says:

    I think we get lulled into thinking frosts are over. It was in the high 80sF here yesterday (April), but the forecasters say we’ll be in the low 40sF by the end of next week. The temps are like a yo-yo.
    Your red valerian looks very healthy. Funny, I bought one of those yesterday, a spur of the moment purchase when I stopped at a plant stand!

  4. Anonymous says:

    I had Hesperis, foxgloves and lupins all under double layer of fleece but caught quite badly. Hydrangeas suffered but Phacelia seedlings seem all fine. My dahlia in the poly tunnel are looking a bit rough too. Hopefully they will recover. Very unusual for us to get such a sharp frost here in south Devon this late.

    • Flighty says:

      Anonymous (?) what a shame. Surprsingly it affected a wide range of plants. Let’s hope so. That’s a sign of a changing climate perhaps?

  5. No frost here, has rained a little today and now the sun is out! We definitely need more of the wet stuff, just not when I’m working. 🙂 Have a good week yourself x

  6. Jo says:

    We didn’t have any frost here but it was much cooler last week than it has been. Let’s hope that’s the last we see of such cold temperatures until next winter now.

  7. CJ says:

    I took a couple of dahlias from pots on our warm south facing house wall and put them out at the allotment. Their shoots were nipped by the cold, as was the Japanese wineberry foliage. I’m hoping it will all recover. What we really need is some good rain… Just a few teasing spots this pm. Hope you have a good week. CJ xx

  8. Just seen some new shoots of my badly frosted vine, so they do come back quite quickly. Hope the potatoes are ok for you ! Xx

  9. Christina says:

    Yep! The frost is a killer – no doubt about it. I think my vine is dead but it won’t put me out of business, I feel for the farmers, they may have missed a years grapes 🍇

  10. Sharon says:

    Lots of people here had potato tops frosted. My newbie neighbour has lost all of his tomatoes and french beans. Lovely red valerian – after three attempts to get seeds to germinate, I’ve given up this year!

  11. menhir1 says:

    You never know what might recover, how and when. There may be some pleasant surprises in store. The other plants are looking sturdy. xx

  12. snowbird says:

    Oh, I do hope all those plants recover. You seem ahead of me, thankfully we haven’t had any severe frosts…yet. I do like your stone feature.xxx

  13. Caro says:

    I think our allotments must be slightly warmer as the centaurea has been flowering for a few weeks now and I noticed the valerian in flower at the weekend. I checked emerging seedlings and tiny potato leaves after last week’s cold snap but all seemed well. Was it your grape vine that suffered in the frost? I hope that it rallies. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro our site is rather exposed. My red valerian is just about to start flowering. Yes mine, as well as others. Thanks, so do I. xx

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Limnanthes are some of my favorites. Do keep an eye on that centranthus — it has world-domination in its sights.

Leave a Reply

