Vegetables and a new book

Last week I was given some onion seedlings which I planted out on Tuesday. Some are the variety Ailsa Craig which are large globe-shaped with a good flavour, excellent for exhibiting but not a good keeper.  The others are Bedfordshire Champion which is a popular variety and a good keeper, but susceptible to downy mildew.  It’ll be interesting to see how they compare with the Sturon sets that I’d already planted.

The first early potatoes Pentland Javelin (middle row) and most of the second early Charlottes (right-hand row) have now started showing foliage so I earthed them up this morning.

The temperature looks like dropping close or to zero a couple of mornings during the coming week.  I hope it doesn’t as the first early Red Duke York (left-hand row) foliage is now too tall to earth-up again and I don’t want them to get frosted.

 

 

The second lot of broad beans Crimson Flowered have appeared just over two weeks after I sowed them.  The first lot are growing very slowly, and all have notched leaves which is a tell-tale sign of bean weevils. Hoeing round the plants is supposed to prevent this but I’ve been doing that regularly to no avail.

At home I’ve sown the sweet corn Golden Bantam seeds in pots to start off on the windowsill. I’ve not done this before having always sown direct around the end of May.

As usual at Christmas I was given a book token which I generally use to buy a non-fiction book, which I did last weekend when I bought The Living Jigsaw by Val Bourne. Since then I’ve been enjoying browsing through it and will do a review once I’ve read it properly.

 

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Sofa flying. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Vegetables and a new book

  1. menhir1 says:

    Never a dull moment under changing skies, Mr F.
    The sweetcorn sound like an interesting departure from your norm. Xx

  2. Liz says:

    You have quite a variety of potatoes and onions. Fingers crossed that you don’t get a frost. Hope your broad beans will prevail over the bean weevil.
    The book sounds interesting.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I generally grow four varieties of potatoes but only one onion type. It looks like we won’t at the moment. Thanks, they usually do, it’s blackfly that can be a major problem.
      It’s a really enjoyable and interesting book. xx

  3. Christina says:

    I really hope you don’t get the frost threatened. Can you put fleece on the potatoes? I usually grow my sweetcorn in modules but I haven’t sown them yet, maybe next week.

  4. Jo says:

    Everything looks to be coming on well. Our weather forecast keeps changing for the week ahead, what looked like a washout now doesn’t look too bad at all. Enjoy the book and I look forward to hearing what you think of it.

  5. CJ says:

    The book looks great, an excellent choice I think. I was surprised to see that my broad beans were doing well down at the allotment. I was expecting them to have fallen over and/or been eaten by slugs, but so far so good. A pleasant surprise for once! I planted out some rooted pink cuttings, dahlias that were previously living in pots at home and half a dozen dark red sunflowers this morning. Also brought home a big pile of asparagus and some rhubarb as well. I do love this time of year. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I think you’re right about the book. They sound okay, mine have been very slow to grow this year. You’ve been busy with the flowers. That’s a good haul. Me too. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Oooh, I hope your Red Duke survives the cold! I wish you could send some of it our way — the cold, though I’ll take some potatoes, too 🙂

  7. Lovely update just sowed the last of the sunflowers you gave put them somewhere safe now find them

  8. snowbird says:

    Here’s to the weather being kind to your potatoes. Good luck with the onions, it will be interesting seeing how they perform. My broad beans are doing really well this year, they, like yours have shot up. That book looks interesting!xxx

  9. Caro says:

    I hope your potatoes survived the cold snap, Flighty. I’m just catching up with your blog posts so will no doubt find out as I read on. I do love Val Bourne’s books, I’ll look forward to reading your review.

Leave a Reply

