Have a good Easter weekend!

Although it was gloriously sunny and warm last weekend I didn’t spend much time on the plot. As usual I spent less than a couple of hours there on Saturday morning and on Sunday morning just had a look round before going over to the horticultural society trading shed where I was on duty.  Another reason that I don’t spend much time there at weekends this time of year is because I find the noise of other plot-holders mowing, rotovating and/or strimming a bit irritating.

It’s remained dry and mostly sunny but somewhat cooler since then which I don’t mind, and it’s been nice and quiet! I’ve got lots done, including cutting the grass paths which is a job that’s always at the bottom of the list.

Sadly most of the yellow, and bi-coloured, daffodils have now finished flowering and been deadheaded, as have the tulips.  However the white Thalia are still looking lovely.

Have a good Easter weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Have a good Easter weekend!

  1. Susie Dixon says:

    Hope you have a lovely Easter. Jon and I have cleaned out the pond, ready for some marginal planting. Overrun with strawberry plants which have seeded in the ‘serenity’ garden, so need to do something about those!.
    It’s still cold here in Cheshire.
    Thank you for all your inspiring posts.

    • Flighty says:

      Susie thanks, and you too. Good for you, and happy planting. I’m going to have to sort my strawberries out later this year.
      It’s been rather cool here as well.
      You’re most welcome. xx

  2. CJ says:

    You’re right, it can be noisy. I always try and strim when there’s no-one else around, or ask if they mind. My plot neighbour was listening to the radio the other day and didn’t notice I’d arrived. She was very apologetic when she saw me and turned it off. We’re quite a quiet bunch! I can hear the stream from my plot which is nice. It’s all very restorative down there. Hope you have a lovely Easter weekend as well. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m glad you agree. It’s when there’s a handful rather than just one or two it’s gets too noisy. Lucky you being able to hear the stream like that. Thanks. xx

  3. Jo says:

    The weather this week had turned out much better than I expected, though it’s much cooler than last weekend. Hope you have a lovely Easter weekend too and manage some time at the plot.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Thanks for your holiday wishes. I wish you a wonderfully productive plotting time and a lovely Easter weekend. xx

  5. Christina says:

    A very good Easter to you too!

  6. Liz says:

    I find the leaf blowers to be the most annoying, partly because I can’t understand why they don’t vacuum the leaves up, instead of blowing them away and, very noisily at that!
    Wishing you a happy Easter weekend.

  7. I think Thalia is one of my favourite and is also flowering it’s socks off here too! Have a wonderful Easter too Mike xx

  8. snowbird says:

    It has been a better Easter than forecast, but very cold and windy here. Mowers do ruin the mood for sure, they always come out on the nicest days. Thalia is looking beautiful still, she has had a great run.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it was chilly and windy here as well. I agree, and people using them often seem to have little consideration for others. It sure has. xx

  9. karen says:

    Hope you had a lovely Easter weekend, Mike. Ours wasn’t quite as we expected due to family illness. We’ve spent a lot of time back and forth to hospitals. Luckily they are on the mend now and this morning I got a break and enjoyed tidying up my veg plot. Enjoy the rest of the week. Love Karen x

    • Flighty says:

      Karen I had a mostly quiet and relaxing time which is how I like it. I’m sorry to read about your family illness and hope that they’re getting better now. Good to see that you got to work on your veg patch. Thanks, and you too. xx

Leave a Reply

