Tree following, April 2017

Liz’s Tulip poplar…Following on from my February post I’m happy to say that my tree has not only survived the winter here in Lexington, Kentucky but is now setting buds and beginning to leaf out.

    

I read that these Tulip poplars can grow as much as three feet a year, and we’ll see if this one does.  It may also take ten to fifteen years for a young tree to start blooming, so clearly patience is the watchword.

My usual thanks to Mike for kindly letting me guest post.

 

Flighty’s Dogwood (Cornus)…Despite my looking at this tree every time I arrive at the plot it always surprises me at just how quickly it starts to leaf up at this time of year.

A closer look reveals numerous still green flower buds nestling in the leaves.

I must remember to look at these regularly to see how they grow and change into white flowers over the coming weeks.

Our thanks to Pat, The Squirrelbasket,  for hosting Tree following.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Tree following, April 2017

  1. Jo says:

    I think these early months in the growing season will see lots of changes in both trees. I love how all of a sudden they burst in to life and go from looking very bare to being covered in greenery once again.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Liz, tell me again how tall your tulip poplar is now? It looks just a little thing! May it survive many more winters!

    Flighty, I know what you mean about paying attention to a plant/tree and still getting caught by surprise at its growth. Perhaps I’ll join you for tree-following with my pomegranate. Seems it’s leafless one day and leafed and flowering the next.

    • Liz says:

      Nikki, your question made me do something I should have done a while back! I just took my yardstick outside. The tulip poplar is 3 1/2 feet tall right now. That’s a good thing to know! Thanks, Liz

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’ll try and make sure that Liz mentions how tall it is in her future posts so we know how it’s progressing.
      I think we all do, even with plants we look at look daily. Tree following your pomegranate sounds like a good idea. xx

  3. Rachel says:

    It’s my first time to hear about Tulip poplars. I wonder what it looks like when it develops into a tree and starts blooming.

    • Liz says:

      They are rather exotic-looking with large white/yellow blooms. They are used as street trees here in Kentucky and are quite show stoppers when you’re driving down a road lined with them. They are related to magnolias. Have no idea why they’re called tulip poplars.

    • Flighty says:

      Rachel it’s not a tree that I’m familiar with either. So do I. xx

  4. Lovely – you two have chosen very contrasting species!
    Liz: I hope you are measuring the tulip tree so you can see if it does grow three feet. Like children, I guess we forget what they were like when they were little…
    Flighty: Love those flower buds…
    Thanks for taking part 🙂

    • Liz says:

      Pat, as you will see from Nikkipolani’s comment above. She forced my hand. Measuring the tree is something I should have been doing all along. So, I’m starting today. Thanks, Liz

    • Flighty says:

      Pat we sure have.
      I’ll try to make sure Liz mentions the height in future posts.
      Me too, and there are lots of them to looks at.
      Our pleasure. xx

  5. snowbird says:

    It will be interesting to see how the tulip poplar gets on. A lesson in patience indeed! That dogwood is a marvelous shade of lime green, so fresh looking.xxx

  6. I like the idea of following a tree, but have not been able to work out how to get involved. I have clicked on the following a tree link but am still not sure how to actually do it. Can you help? Xx

  7. Flighty says:

    Liz it’ll be interesting to see the leaves unfurl on your tree, and to see how tall it is later in the year. xx

    • Liz says:

      Yes, Mike, it will be fun to see the leaves unfurl (and I’ll keep the yardstick at hand!)
      I love dogwoods, so look forward to seeing how yours progresses. Liz

  8. Pingback: Tree following link box for April 2017 | The Squirrelbasket

Leave a Reply

