Including tulips and tomatoes

I spent most mornings last week plotting last week when I sowed more broad beans Crimson Flowered and some flower seeds, as well as doing plenty of hoeing and weeding.

I have three large pots containing a dozen tulips Purissima and Red Impression, some white daffodils Thalia and these yellow/orange daffodils variety unknown.

At home I sowed the tomato seeds a week ago last Thursday and all but one had appeared within a few days as seen here.

I’ve also sowed various flower seeds including cosmos Xanthos and various sunflowers.

It’s a glorious sunny and warm weekend but looks like being cooler and duller, although staying dry, well into next week when I’ll be planting out the main crop potatoes Desiree and some gladioli Cha Cha, which have butter-yellow flowers.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Including tulips and tomatoes

  1. You have been busy. Your opening shot is very striking. I love it when seeds germinate quickly

  2. VP says:

    Busy, busy, busy! Have a good week, Flighty x

  3. CJ says:

    I didn’t sow any broad beans this year but I couldn’t resist it when I saw a couple of trays of them at a village hall plant sale yesterday. So I’ll at least have a few. And I’ll probably add another tray from the garden shop too. I never seem to have enough broad beans! Glad the tomatoes came up quickly. Mine did too, except for Mountain Magic F1 which germinated really poorly. Annoying because they were expensive and there were only about six seeds in the packet. I’ll be lucky to get three plants I think. I picked them because they’re supposed to be blight resistant. I’m a convert to Golden Sunrise ever since you let me have some seeds three years ago – they always do well so I always grow at least a couple of them. Hope you have a good week. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ good for you. It’s handy to have a plant sale, and garden shop, isn’t it. Shame about your expensive F1 tomato seeds. Golden Sunrise always do well, and they’re probably my favourite variety. Thanks, you too. xx

  4. Jo says:

    It’s been perfect gardening weather, I just wish it would continue for a while longer, especially as we have bank holidays coming up. What gorgeous tulip varieties, they’re both beauties.

  5. Liz says:

    This is such a busy time of year in the garden. Congratulations on your seed germination. I sowed some Tithonia(Mexican sunflower), and Celosia indoors last week and hope to see results like yours. Lovely tulips and daffodils!

  6. It all looks enviably tidy! Is it too early to plant cosmos seeds? X

  7. menhir1 says:

    Here’s to a good result and a great harvest, xxx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Cha Cha sounds like a fun flower 😉 Hope your seedlings thrive, Flighty! We’ve had some glorious days here, too, with storms passing to the north leaving only the very edges of cool clouds to us.

  9. plot34 says:

    It’s good to hear you are just sowing broad beans. As I walk around the site, it seems all BBs are in flower.

  10. snowbird says:

    Love your blooms! Good to hear your tomatoes came up so quickly, mine finally came up yesterday, I sowed them weeks ago.xxx

  11. I like the sound of Gladioli Cha Cha!

Leave a Reply

