Delightful daffodils

I enjoyed the yellow daffodils, especially the arc of Tete-a-tetes, for much of March but sadly that’s coming to an end as the flowers are now fading.

Following these the luminous white variety Thalia  are now flowering. As well as the ones in the picture, that I planted last autumn, there are also some in a container.  These delightful daffodils are definitely a Flighty’s favourite. I’m not surprised that it’s such a popular variety, and they have a wonderful scent which sadly I can’t enjoy due to my really poor sense of smell.

 

I spent every morning plotting last week.  I planted out the rest of the onions Sturon. The first ones I put in a couple of weeks ago are beginning to shoot.

I also planted out the second early potatoes Charlotte. I was surprised to see that the distinctive purple foliage for the first earlies Red Duke of York is already appearing.

The broad bean Crimson Flowered seeds that I sowed almost three weeks ago only started to appear yesterday. I’d just about given up on them as germination is normally less than two weeks.

On Friday I somewhat half-heartedly turned over the compost heap and was rewarded by finding both of my long lost weeding knives.  Yesterday I picked the first handful  of rhubarb stems.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Delightful daffodils

  1. CJ says:

    Amazing what turns up in the compost heap isn’t it! My secateurs migrate there every so often too. The white daffodils are absolutely stunning. I’ve sown some dwarf cosmos this year that have been very slow to germinate, I’ve almost given up hope. Hope you have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. So have mine a couple of times. They certainly are. Some seeds really do take an age to appear don’t they and i’m not surprised. Thanks, you too. xx

  2. plot34 says:

    Lovely daffodils. That’s the first time I’ve seen a completely white variety – they are on the list for planting later this year! I’m hoping my secateurs will turn up, I put them down in the garden at home and they have disappeared! Have a good week.

  3. Jo says:

    My Thalias have just started flowering too. I saw the buds and couldn’t remember what they were, I planted them in the garden after enjoying them in containers a couple of years ago and they’ve given me a lovely surprise when I just thought my daffies were coming to an end. Enjoy your rhubarb, something I miss from the plot.

  4. Andy says:

    I’ve been lucky enough to pick Rhubarb since February – I was well chuffed with that. My Daffs have all but finished and I’m desperate to cut the grass where they are but am trying to leave it as long as possible so they can get energy back into the bulbs before I cut them all – ditto the crocuses.

    My outside broad beans have also taken longer than usual – I think it has been the lack of rain I’ve had which slowed them down. Next battle as the broad beans grow is stopping the slugs from stunting them 🙂

    Do you suffer from slugs?

    • Flighty says:

      Andy that was early. That’s the only down-side to daffodils, but it’s well worth waiting for them to die back.
      On reflection that may have been the problem with my broad beans as well.
      Yes, when it’s wet slugs can be a major problem on the plot. Cheers.

  5. Caro says:

    I think I prefer white daffodils to the big yellow ones although little Tete-a-tete daffs are a firm favourite. The daffs are just about over here – even the white ones only lasted a week. I don’t know what variety they are as they came in a bag of mixed white bulbs from Morrisons. Do you rate Duke of York potatoes for taste? The foliage looks very nice! I haven’t bought any this year as one of the other plot helpers seems to have bought 3 big bags!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I like both, it’s the frilly ones and other colours I’m not keen on. That’s the problem with buying them like that.
      Yes, I think that Red Duke of York are a good tasting first early. It’s an unusual colour isn’t it. Lucky you. xx

  6. Liz says:

    Oh, the value of turning the compost! I suspect we’ve all found lost tools in our compost.
    My Thalia are blooming right now too. They are lovely indeed.
    The purple foliage of red Duke of York is distinctive.
    It’s a busy time in the garden.

  7. Thalia is my favourite too. I am always losing hand tools and that your knife showed up in the compost heap made me smile.

  8. menhir1 says:

    The purple foliage is quite lovely, it is a pity it does not last through the year. It’s amazing what beauties are attached to the growing of potatoes.

    A profusion of daffodils can be quite lovely. Delighted you ‘rediscovered’ your gardening knives. I’m hoping a pair of my gloves might reappear fortuitously!

    xx

  9. snowbird says:

    I bet you enjoyed the rhubarb! I’ve yet to plant my potatoes….there never seems to be enough time! Thalia is gorgeous, I must look out for some next year. What a windfall finding your tools, I always find mine amongst the compost, usually to rusted to repair!xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I sure did. I’m sure that you’ll find the time to plant them. It really is such a lovely variety. I was lucky to find them. I had problem that with a pair of secateurs. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    New growth is so wonderful in spring when we can catch each leaf unfurling. Love those purple leaves of Red Duke of York.

Leave a Reply

