Sofa reading, March 2017

This month Liz and I are both writing about non-fiction books for a change.

Liz – I read this book last month which I found to be affecting.

Paul Kalanithi’s autobiography When Breath Becomes Air is a brief and profoundly moving story of facing death in one’s thirties.  Diagnosed with terminal lung cancer while still in residency as a neurosurgeon Kalanithi describes the ironies of being both doctor and patient, and ponders whether to continue his work or take another path in the time remaining.  He relies on the sustenance of support from family, friends and colleagues.

The forward is by Abraham Verghese, another doctor-writer, and the afterword by Paul’s widow Lucy. Between the two is a three-part account – diagnosis, early family life  and the final months. It is beautifully rendered, without self-pity, but rather a discourse on how we approach life and our inevitable passing.

Mike –  I read my book at the end of last year which was inevitably tear-jerking at times but certainly heart-warming.
Christmas at Battersea, True Stories of Miracles and Hope starts with what Battersea is like on Christmas Day then goes on to relate stories of inspirational owners who found a place in their hearts and homes for abandoned pets.

Over the Christmas/New Year period I read a chapter a day.  Despite the sadness at times the stories are uplifting and the pictures delightful, including two week old kittens and a Great Dane.

It’s the perfect follow on read to Rescue Me by Melissa Wareham, which tells of her fifteen years working at Britain’s most well known and loved dogs’ home.

Happy reading, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Sofa flying and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Sofa reading, March 2017

  1. Jenny says:

    Thanks for that, Mike. I am looking for something good to read and you have given me two great ideas between you.

  2. Jo says:

    You came to mind as I was reading Christmas at Battersea as I knew you’d read Rescue Me and thought you’d enjoy this one too. When Breath Becomes Air sounds like something I’d choose to read, I think I’ll put that on my list of books to look out for.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks again for sending it to me, it was a lovely read. I’ll probably read that one as well. xx

    • Liz says:

      Jo, Mike has been recommending both “Battersea” books to me. You were the original “recommender”!
      Paul Kalathini’s book has been near the top of the New York Times best seller NF list since its publication. Liz

  3. CJ says:

    I like a bit of non-fiction from time to time too. They both sound very moving, hopefully ultimately uplifting as well. CJ xx

  4. karen says:

    I will look out for both of those Mike. Thanks for the reviews. So moving.

  5. plot34 says:

    I’ve read When Breath Becomes Air. A very moving account of living with a terminal illness at prime age.

  6. They both sound really fascinating, but I know that my reading slows down as the garden speeds up. Good for a rainy day x

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Oooh, I’m liking these sofa reading reviews 🙂 Of course, there’ll be fewer of them as the growing season perks up, as Liz mentions!

Leave a Reply

