Once I’ve made a cup of tea…

first thing in the morning I then turn the PC on to look at the Met Office local weather forecast for the day to check if it’s changed from the previous evening.

I prefer to go to the plot for a few hours after breakfast but the forecast on Friday morning was chilly and overcast then sunny from late morning onwards.  Following an early lunch it was then much better so just for a change I went for a while in the early afternoon, when I generally pottered.

It’s been a sunny weekend so this morning I planted the first early potatoes Pentland Javelin and another row of onions Sturon.  I then went across to the horticultural trading shed for tea, biscuits and a chat.

The forecast for the coming week is looking generally good so I’ll be planting the second early potatoes Charlotte and the rest of the onions.  At home I’ll be sowing the first seeds in pots that I’m starting off on the windowsill.  They’ll be the tomatoes and some flowers.

I’m pleased with everything so far and looking round it’s all looking good.  For instance the hydrangea that I recently moved is showing plenty of new foliage and  the rhubarb is growing well.

     

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Once I’ve made a cup of tea…

  1. menhir1 says:

    Your Hydrangea is looking happy. I look forward to seeing its progress to floral displays.
    I always check the Met forecasts on the day, as you say, weather patterns do change from one evening to the next morning. xx

  2. Liz says:

    The daffodils are smiling at your rhubarb, encouraging its growth!
    In Kentucky, they say the weather changes by the day. In Britain, it changes by the hour!

  3. Jo says:

    I always check the met office website first thing every day too. We’ve been away from home this weekend and the weather’s been fabulous, I hope it continues this week.

  4. plot34 says:

    Sunny days but with a serious wind chill, I don’t blame you for waiting until lunchtime for a spot of pottering.

  5. CJ says:

    Glad you’ve got down there, despite the chilly weather. I managed to sow some sugar snap peas today. No sign of the radishes yet, I think they’re finding it a bit cold. Hope you have a good week. CJ xx

  6. snowbird says:

    The weather is still pretty mixed isn’t it? We’ve had a lovely warm weekend so no complaints here. Your Hydrangea is looking settled, and that rhubarb is certainly romping away. Good to be planting potatoes too! I sowed my tomatoes a while ago, nothing up yet!xxx

  7. I need to take a leaf out of your more relaxed approach to gardening, I like it! Thanks Flighty, happy plotting xx

  8. Christina says:

    I also check the weather but like today often forget to check the wind speed and direction. Today which was shown as full sun all day also has a cold wind! Have a good week.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    It’s coming up on the time of year that I don’t need to check the weather — it’s going to be hot and the containers will need watering. Not hard to predict, like your variable weather in spring! That new growth certainly looks promising.

  10. karen says:

    I always check to see what @papaver says about the weather each morning. Alison usually shows the temperature on her car as she’s setting off for work- and I’m just thinking about getting out of bed. If it’s cold and horrible, I have a few more minutes under the covers. I’m planting Orla and Charlotte this year. I think I’ll crack on and plant them as you’ve done yours. I was dithering about planting them. That hydrangea will be lovely in the autumn. All the best. Karen x

    • Flighty says:

      Karen that’s a handy way to check the weather. I don’t blame you when it’s like that. Good for you, they’re both good varieties especially the Charlottes. I sure hope so.
      Thanks, and to you too. xx

  11. Sounds as if my earlies better get put in the ground, thanks Flighty.

Leave a Reply

