Starting and stopping…

plotting is inevitable when the weather is unsettled, as it is at the moment.  It’s been a damp and dull weekend so I’ve not done anything, nor will I tomorrow as rain is forecast for much of the day. Thankfully after that it looks like being  a drier and sunnier week.

On Friday, which was a good day, I planted the first early potatoes Red Duke of York and the first two rows of onions Sturion with hopefully more to follow next week.

Looking round the site during the week I noticed this plum(?) tree covered  in a cloud of white blossom.

These lovely bi-coloured daffodils are growing in the grass under a cherry tree.

My yellow daffodils continue to delight, especially on grey days.

    

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Starting and stopping…

  1. Jo says:

    It’s a case of getting things done as and when you can at this time of year with the weather being unpredictable. I’m cheered by the sight of all the daffodils around at the moment.

  2. Liz says:

    Here, in Kentucky, the flowering trees that were blooming early were ruined when we went well below freezing for a couple of days this week. Ah well, the daffodils do delight and I’d forgotten to mention your daffodil header — so pretty!

  3. Christina says:

    I love seeing everyone’s daffodils as they are more difficult to grow here.

  4. Lovely plum tree. Must get my spuds in !

  5. menhir1 says:

    Ooh those budding blossoms are so pert and pretty, they are really spring-like. Your daffs are doing you proud. 🙂

    There is a wintry feel around at the present time, it demands a little more energy to potter around I should think. I certainly feel I have to put just a little bit more effort into breezing about. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir blossom in the spring is always wonderful to see. thanks, they sure are.
      Now it’s really spring let’s hope the wintry weather says goodbye. I know the feeling. xx

  6. plot34 says:

    Lovely daffodils. A few short showers, but very windy today and rain tomorrow. Yay!

  7. princessines says:

    glad to read someone else is started on their potatoes..I always have that feeling that I’m too early for everything…mine are going in next weekend….love the pics as usual

    • Flighty says:

      Princess I generally don’t start planting until now at the earliest. Good for you, it looks like being a good weekend to do it. Thanks, that’s nice to know. xx

  8. CJ says:

    Gorgeous plum tree. Mine is still shut tight. I’m hoping for a plum year this year though after having not a single one last year. Very damp here too, and for some days to come. The grass is growing like mad though! Hope you have a good week Flighty.. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it it but I don’t think that it fruits. I hope that yours does this year. Hopefully now it’s spring the weather will improve. Grass never seems to stop growing does it. Thanks, and you too. xx

  9. Thanks Flighty, your recording of what you have and haven’t been able to do lets me know what needs doing. The early blossom and daffodils are so enjoyable to see. Just need the weather to settle down and behave.

  10. snowbird says:

    It is difficult getting anything done with our wildly unpredictable weather. The daffs are so cheery, love them. Glad you got your early potatoes in.xxx

Leave a Reply

