Something new

As well as the tomato Legend seeds that I mentioned receiving last week Shelagh kindly sent me a second variety, Sunrise Bumble Bee, to try.  This one is an organic, cherry type which is yellow with flushes of red.

She also sent me a few Centaurea montana Amethyst in Snow seeds as she remembered me being interested in this lovely perennial cornflower, which has white flowers with a purple centre.  It’s an eye-catching variety, and if I manage to get them to germinate then grow I will replace the ordinary blue flowering ones I have with these.

Yesterday plot neighbour Trevor kindly gave me a black willow (Salix gracilistyla Melanostachys) whip to plant and grow. As you can see I’ve put it in a large pot to get established before planting out next year.  I look forward to seeing how this does.

 

I’ve had three good plotting mornings this week, which included sowing some broad bean Crimson flowered seeds. I also sieved some multi-purpose compost then bought it home to use in the pots I’ll be sowing various flower and vegetable seeds in to start off on the windowsill.

 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Something new

  1. How tall do you expect the willow to grow? Do you fear it might be a bit greedy on water in the bed or is this not a problem? I don’t really know much about willows.

    • Flighty says:

      Sandra hello, and welcome. I’ll keep it small, around six/eight feet, and plant on the flower bed so it shouldn’t be a problem. Nor me really except that they’re wonderful trees. xx

  2. Jo says:

    It’s always fun to try growing new things. The tomato sounds interesting.

  3. CJ says:

    Lovely new things to try, the tomato is really striking. Love the cornflower as well, very unusual. Well done on the plotting. I had a quick look round mine yesterday evening, mostly to check that I’d escaped the latest (more severe than usual) round of vandalism. Happily I had. Picked a couple of stems of rhubarb, good to see spring happening down there. I’m trying a new tomato this year as well (I usually do), Mountain Magic. Germination hasn’t been great so far, fingers crossed they’ll all come up.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they certainly are. Thanks. I’m sorry to see that your site has suffered from vandals again, you must have been relieved that your plot was okay. It’s the sheer mindlessness that annoys me. I hope that tomato does germinate and does well. xx

  4. plot34 says:

    I like the look of the bumble bee tomatoes😄 Good luck with germination, it’s always a bit pot luck for me. Plot day for me tomorrow.

  5. It all looks satisfyingly industrious.

  6. karen says:

    I love the idea of those tomatoes. Saw that centaurea at Chelsea last year, it’s so beautiful. Bees will love you for planting that willow. They love the fluffy red/black catkins. All the best with your new plants/seeds Mike.

  7. Christina says:

    I’ve been pricking out my tomatoes. I grow a stupid number of varieties; at present I have 160 seedlings in 40 cell per tray modules – some will be for friends who don’t have greenhouses to start of seeds and some will end up on the compost heap. At least half have come from my saved seed from last year. But I don’t have these so you’ll have to report on flavour etc.

    • Flighty says:

      Christina goodness that is a lot of tomato seedlings. I only grow about eight or nine plants of three or four varieties. I will post how these new ones do, and taste like. xx

  8. Liz says:

    You have interesting new tomatoes from Shelagh. Love the look of the cornflower; most unusual colour. Happy plotting!

  9. I am itchy to start planting but have to hold off for another week in case the weather changes. Good luck with your broad beans😁

  10. Andy says:

    Willow is a fantastic tree, I have loads. It’s one of those things that’s almost impossible to get wrong, they just grow and grow. After 4 years some of mine had got to about 15ft tall and were pruned this year. The prunings will all be put into the ground to fill in gaps of the hedge. After cutting I put the sticks into water until they form roots (about a week or 2) then they go into the ground. Just keep your stick in the pot moist or even wet.

  11. menhir1 says:

    It all sounds very productive. You have much to look forward to Mr F. Bringing on rooted plants can be very rewarding. xx

  12. snowbird says:

    You have had some super gifts! Looking forward to seeing how they all get on, especially the white cornflower, I must look out for a perennial one.xxx

  13. Chloris says:

    Lovely to try different tomatoes. I have Salix melanostachys and it is a winner with lovely black claw-like catkins.

  14. It’s a busy time Flighty, enjoy

Leave a Reply

