I’ve been delighted…

with the crocuses this year, especially the Snow Bunting that I planted en masse last autumn.  They have now finished but a few of the others, such as these white ones, are still flowering.

 

 

As these finish some of the daffodils have started flowering. So far there are these tall traditional yellow ones which I prefer to the various others that are available.

 

Here are the Tete-a-tetes that I planted last autumn in an arc around the dogwood.

 

Being a dwarf variety they withstand any heavy rain and/or high wind better than the tall ones. Some are multi-headed so they provide plenty of colourful flowers.

 

 

I’ve still not planted or sown anything and just about the only plotting that I did last week was yesterday.  I armed myself with a small pruning saw, secateurs and heavy duty gloves before cutting out the dead wood from the blackberry bush and dogwood rose. It’s a job that I’m thankful I don’t have to do very often.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’ve been delighted…

  1. Chloris says:

    I’m glad to hear you haven’t sown anything yet, I am beginning to think I’m getting rather late with it. There has been so much else to do in the garden. I love dainty little Tete-a-tetes.

  2. CJ says:

    Lovely crocuses, and great for the bees as well. I haven’t sown anything yet except tomatoes. I did get round to cutting back the grape vines last week though. One job ticked off the list! CJ xx

  3. Mark Willis says:

    For some reason, most of my Tete-a-Tete daffs only have one flower per stem. I suspect that I have been conned! I’m not too fussed, because they still do look nice – and are surviving today’s heavy rain quite well.

  4. Andy says:

    The Tete-a-tetes do add a nice bit of colour this time of year.

  5. Liz says:

    You have shown us pictures of the crocus over the past month or so, and they have proved their worth! The tete-a-tetes look so pretty around the tree.

  6. menhir1 says:

    I really like your floral arc, it is very pretty.
    I can understand your caution about dealing with the blackberry bush deadwood. H&S highly desirable for the job. xx

  7. Jo says:

    Everywhere’s looking fabulous at the moment with all the spring bulbs doing their stuff. I’ve been away for the weekend and it’s amazing how many more things are blooming in just two days, I think you notice it more when you don’t see the area every day.

  8. Doris says:

    So lovely! 🙂 We are in a deep freeze right now. 😦

  9. Christina says:

    I’m almost to the end of my sowing cycle, the tomatoes have germinated and some even pricked out.

  10. plot34 says:

    Great photos. I like the artful arc. Enjoy your week.

  11. snowbird says:

    Your spring bulbs are gorgeous and are certainly putting on a marvelous show. I do like that arc around the dogwood. Good that you have the pruning out of the way….hopefully seeds can be sown soon.xxx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Delightful indeed! And so lovely to see them grouped like that.

Leave a Reply

