Just plotting along

On Monday morning I cleared away the old leaves from both lots of crocosmia to give the emerging new growth air and light. I’ll do a further proper tidy and weed through them another day when it’s drier and warmer.

 

These are self-seeded collomia grandiflora plants, from ones I grow, which as usual are on the adjacent plot.  With Brian’s okay I’ve dug them up and replanted on my plot before he starts to plant his potatoes.  This year I’ve put them in a different place , and I must try to remember to save some seeds.

 

Recently Twitter friend Shelagh tweeted that she’d returned from Australia only to find that the packet of tomato Legend seeds that she’d bought there was empty.  I suggested that she email where she’d bought them from, which she did and was sent a replacement packet  which she received on Monday.  She kindly offered me some to which I said yes please and look forward to growing this variety.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Just plotting along

  1. Jo says:

    My crocosmia has had a tidy up too, it’s putting on plenty of new growth. I’ve just noticed my dicentra pushing its way through the soil today too, it’s good to see old favourites reemerging. Fancy there being no seeds in the packet, I hope the replacements do well for you both.

  2. You have reminded me to move my crocosmia from under a fir tree where they are too dry every summer! Many thanks! X

  3. menhir1 says:

    Variations on the gardening theme. xx

  4. CJ says:

    A bit of garden tidying here as well this week, it’s been lovely out there. I’ve sown my tomatoes as well, although I’ve realised I don’t have any Orkados, which have done quite well for me. Might have to get some I think. CJ xx

  5. Chloris says:

    A wonderful day today for a bit of tidying. Collomia grandiflora is gorgeous, such a delicate colour.

  6. plot34 says:

    How is that the self-sown seedlings always seem to prefer next door’s plot!

  7. Christina says:

    I hope the weather keeps improving for you so you can keep plotting! Here it’s been a good week for gardening except for the whirlwind!

    • Flighty says:

      Christina it’s dull and drizzling today but looks like it’ll be better tomorrow onwards.
      Goodness, I don’t want any of those across the plot. xx

  8. Liz says:

    I tried crocosmia again last year, and hope it reappears for me this year. “Lucifer” is such a vibrant colour.
    It will be fun to try a new variety of tomato this year.

  9. snowbird says:

    Looking forward to seeing how those tomatoes turn out. It’s always good to see new seedlings appearing. You are very organised!xxx

Leave a Reply

