Last week was rather unsettled…

with plenty of rain so the only plotting that I did was on Thursday and yesterday morning, which included digging up, moving and replanting the hydrangea and sedums.

replanted-hydrangeaThe hydrangea is now at near the top, north-east, corner of the flower patch where I hope it will do well and flower. Β It’s already showing signs of new growth.

replanted-sedums

 

 

 

The sedums Β are over the other side, and further down the patch. Β  As you see these are already growing well.

Also in the picture are some of the white daffodils Thalia which I’m looking forward to seeing flower.

 

this-years-teasels

 

I also sorted out the area by the bottom end of the log pile where some new teasels have self-seeded, which is an ideal out-of-the-way place for them.

 

 

These purple crocuses are in the long planter, and the last ones to flower.

purple-crocuses

It’s cool, wet and windy today but looks like being mostly dry and overcast from tomorrow through the coming week so I can get plotting again.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Last week was rather unsettled…

  1. Andy says:

    I do like teasels but they self seed every where, you’re lucky if they self seeded where you don’t mind them. Mine only self seed where I don’t want them πŸ™‚ ….. but they are easy to move.

  2. menhir says:

    Visiting Edinburgh, I saw that spring blooms were not far behind those you show in your pix. From what you say, hydrangeas transplant without any trauma. Xx

  3. Christina says:

    Always good to be able to make a start. Did you divide the Sedums? They respond well to that treatment.

    • Flighty says:

      Christina it is indeed. No I didn’t as they’re five small clumps that I was given a year ago and planted together in what turned out to the wrong place. xx

  4. CJ says:

    A hint of growth on my potted hydrangea as well. Lovely to see those self-seeded teasels, brilliant for wildlife. Have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ that’s good news, they’re such lovely plants. Yes I’m always pleased when they appear like they do, and they sure are. Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. Liz says:

    We are all commenting on hydrangeas! I was able to take a couple of suckers from my Annabelle hydrangea to pot up for my garden club’s May plant sale.
    There are teasels in abundance at the local park. I enjoy them there.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz so we are! Well done, whoever buys them should be well pleased. I’m sure they look good like that, but not on the plot where a few are enough. xx

  6. snowbird says:

    Your seedums are looking healthy, nothing is happening with mine. We have had endless rain and wind since I returned home, I can’t wait to get some seeds going.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks, I’ve been well pleased with them so far. Fingers crossed yours will spring into life soon. It’s been a mix here with a few good days, I’m not surprised. Happy sowing when you do. xx

  7. plot34 says:

    Everything is looking healthy and organised. I always seem to manage to kill sedums, what’s your secret?

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon thanks. That’s a shame, I was given this handful of small clumps last year which I just planted and left to grow, which they did. They do like well drained soil so I’ve put them at the top of the plot. xx

  8. It’s raining cats and dogs and blowing a gale here and I actually have some time off to get in the garden at last – what a swizz! Glad to see your plot looking ship shape and ready! X

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Good to see things have dried out enough for you to get some moving and planting done. And admiring, too! Those purple crocuses look very sweet. And good luck with the hydrangea!

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it could do with with being drier but it’s not too soggy thankfully. I generally look round the plot when I arrive and before I leave. They’re very pale, and small. Thanks, I’m hoping that it will flower this year. xx

  10. I love Thalia, they are one of my favourites! It has to stop raining eventually. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

