It’s with a certain amount…

of trepidation that I go to the plot the day after there’s been heavy rain and/or high winds. I did so on Friday and was relieved to find that all was okay.  However looking round the site I could see minor damage to some of the greenhouses and sheds.

yellow-crocuses

The crocuses are already beginning to look past their best but it won’t be long before the first daffodils start flowering.

daffodils-on-the-way

I mentioned last year that I’d lost the aster pringlei Monte Cassino as the roots had rotted in soggy ground.  Luckily plot neighbour George kindly gave me one of his Twinkling stars and said to dig it up to replant whenever I liked, which I’ve now done.  I’ve put it mid-way along the top , road-side, edge of the flower patch.

Hopefully during the coming week I’ll be digging up and replanting both the hydrangea and sedum.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It’s with a certain amount…

  1. Caro says:

    I’m currently frustrated by wet weather on my days off work but would have liked to be plotting in Friday’s sunshine. Storm Doris must have hit 60mph here so your plots were lucky not to suffer too much damage. I’ve yet to get up to my shared plot since the storm – hoping the compost bin is still in the same place! Twinkling Stars is so pretty – I was thrilled to be given one last year, I’m hoping it’s survived the winter in its pot but need to get it in the ground very soon. Fingers crossed for dry days next weekend!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’m not surprised, it must be so frustrating. I was amazed that there wasn’t more damage. I hope that your plot is okay.
      I agree, it’s a lovely flower so well pleased that I’ve got another one. Let’s hope that they both do well. Sounds good to me. xx

  2. CJ says:

    More wind forecast here today, although it hasn’t been too bad so far. Like Caro, I’m hoping everything down at my plot is still in the same place. I have some sticks that always tend to fall over in the wind, and the odd bin lid. I have seen a shed turned over on someone else’s plot before now. Fingers crossed nothing like that this time. I’d like to plant an aster on my plot at some stage, the bees absolutely love them. Those yellow crocuses are lovely, such a gorgeous rich colour. Hope you have a good Sunday Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I hope that all was okay on your plot. I’ve seen toppled sheds as well. Asters are lovely flowers and there’ slots to chose from, I wish I had room for more. I agree what you say about the crocuses. Thanks, I had a quiet day. xx

  3. I also managed to escape Doris relatively unscathed with just a lot to twigs etc down and a hunt for the vent end of one of my long cloches. Spent Friday at work looking out at the sun and then was rained off yesterday. Hoping it will hold off today as I’ve got lots of compost to shift.

  4. Mark Willis says:

    My Crocuses haven’t had as much sunshine as they would like to have had. They don’t look so good when they are tightly shut! No damage in my garden from storm Doris, but I’m glad I put extra bricks on my plastic greenhouses – which would have blown away if I hadn’t.

  5. Lovely post. My crocuses are just showing above the ground but it is all starting again. I can’t wait!

  6. Liz says:

    Your crocus are such a pretty color and look at those daffodils about to open up. How nice to have a new aster to enjoy.
    We had a late night/early morning storm front come through on Friday that had high winds and thunder and lightning, but not considered big enough to be given a name.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I’m glad that you like them. It certainly is, and was kind of George to give it to me.
      It’s always worrying when we get storms, and a relief when we find that all is okay afterwards. xx

  7. Not optimistic for the coming week, seems like more rain is on the way. Never mind, there is nothing we can do about it, time for more planning. Have fun x

  8. plot34 says:

    Good to hear that Doris left you unscathed. I hope your neighbouring plots weren’t too badly damaged. I spotted my first yellow crocus just about to burst open today. I like the egg yolk yellow of yours. Enjoy the week.

  9. Christina says:

    Good you didn’t suffer any serious damage from ‘Doris’; the wind often howls around our house and there are strong winds summer and winter that are often between 35 – 55 km per hour.

    • Flighty says:

      Christina thanks, High winds are a problem as the allotment site is a bit exposed and my plot is out in the middle. Strong summer winds must be especially unwelcome. xx

  10. Busy moving stuff around too Flighty. Not much fun in this unsettled spell. Even had hailstones today

  11. menhir1 says:

    I know I frequently say it, but, your flowering bulbs at this time of year, February, seem unreal to me. I would probably see something similar here in the protection of greenhouse, but, certainly not outside for about another month or so.

  12. snowbird says:

    Glad your plot survived the storm, we arrived home to a lot of damage. The crocus are wonderful, here’s to your daffs putting on a great display.xxx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Oh good, I’m pleased to hear your plot survived and still with blooms and buds. Looking forward to seeing how your new aster does. So nice of your plot neighbor to share.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks, so was I. Me too, I’m hoping that it does better than the one I lost. It was, but sadly he gave his plot up late last year. xx

Leave a Reply

