It’s been wintry…

first-of-the-crocuses-snow-buntingthe past few days with temperatures around 0 C during the day, damp with some light snow at times  and almost continually overcast.

 

I’ve made few visits to the plot, even for a quick look round.  During the week when I did I was pleased to see that a few of the crocuses Snow Bunting aren’t far off flowering.

 

 

daffodils-on-the-way

 

The well established daffodils, as seen here, are now being joined by the ones that I planted last autumn which are just starting to appear.

I’m looking forward to seeing them all in flower over the coming months.

 

 

 

first-rhubarb-stem-to-appearI nearly missed this first rhubarb stem, and had to look twice to make sure that’s what it was.

I was going to walk up to the horticultural society trading shed later this morning but it’s bleak out so I’ll give it a miss. I’m sure that what I was going to buy will still be available next week.

After lunch I’m going to browse through this excellent list of 100 gardening blogs, which kindly includes Flighty’s plot.

 

Thankfully the weather looks set to change from tomorrow onwards with some sunshine, then warmer through the week and staying dry.  I might even get to do some plotting.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s been wintry…

  1. Andy says:

    Waiting for the bulbs to pop up is something I always look forward to each year!

  2. CJ says:

    Yes, it’s been cold and dark hasn’t it. Amazing to see that pure white flower emerging from the mud though. Hope you have a good week. CJ xx

  3. Christina says:

    This weekend the weather here has been truly spring like for the first time. I even took my fleece off yesterday.

  4. Liz says:

    The bulbs poking through give us the promise of good things to come!

  5. It’s always good to see the bulbs coming through – especially as it has been colder than usual recently.

    Hope the week ahead is a good one for you

    All the best Jan

    http://thelowcarbdiabetic.blogspot.co.uk/

  6. menhir1 says:

    There’s always activity in the ground, which your pictures evidence and which, in general, people do not pay much heed to unless they have a special interest in nature. xx

  7. Glad to see your perky rhubarb. I have managed to kill three so far and don’t expect to see my very last after such a cold winter.

  8. I too shall look through the 100 gardening blogs now that I know you’re in there! I’m not surprised as its a slot well deserved, have a good week too Flighty xx

  9. plot34 says:

    This weekend was grim. Good to see your plot springing into life, despite the weather. Have a good week.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    We had a cloudy weekend with sunshine here and there. I love being able to say that it’s too soggy to do any gardening 😀

  11. Chel says:

    I love to see the bulbs blossom into flowers!
    Thanks for the link on the 100+ garden blogs, I’ll check them out.

Leave a Reply

