This marking time…

pot-marigolds-end-of-oct16This week it’s been damp, dull and relatively mild in contrast to the previous few weeks which were mostly cold,  frosty and sunny.  I’ve made few visits to the plot when I’ve only had a brief look round.  One bright spot is seeing more crocuses and daffodils starting to appear.  This marking time period is frustrating for gardeners who are wanting to get started on the new growing season.  Even when the weather does improve all I’ll probably be doing this month is some hoeing and maybe digging out the compost heap.

 

nasturtiums-end-of-oct16Sunday morning saw me reporting to the horticultural society trading shed to do my first stint as a helper/steward.  I’ve done it before, some years ago, so I know the routine and the first thing I did was to check that the kettle was filled and switched on.  It was a miserably wet morning so not surprisingly few people appeared.  Being so quiet I mostly drank tea, ate biscuits and chatted.

I did the RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch over the weekend and, as usual, only saw a small number of birds.

Lastly thanks from Liz and myself for the all your positive comments on last weeks post Sofa reading, January 2017.

The two pictures, of pot marigolds and nasturtiums, were taken at the end of October last year as a reminder of what a good autumn it was.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Sofa flying. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to This marking time…

  1. CJ says:

    Yes, it’s not quite time yet is it. Shed helping sounds good though, chatting and eating biscuits, I can do that! Will you be sowing anything this month? I usually pop tomato seeds in some time. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ as you say not quite yet. It is good, and however busy it gets we always make time for tea and biscuits. Perhaps at the end of the month. Good for you. xx

  2. Andy says:

    …it’s a good time to get sweet potatoes started indoors, get them rooted now, then the slips needs cutting off and rooting. It’s my first attempt and odd though it sounds, it’s nice to have something to look at on the window sill growing, and something to take care of 🙂

  3. snowbird says:

    How cheery those blooms are! I’ve just come in from a walk and was surprised to see that crocus were blooming in a neighbour’s garden and that even a little cherry blossom was out. xxx

  4. plot34 says:

    I agree, it does still feel like marking time. However, the greenhouse will be bubble-wrapped tomorrow and that can only mean one thing…

  5. It smells of spring this week, but more snow is forecast for next week here in the Alsace, so I mustn’t get my hopes up yet! Lovely photos! X

  6. Liz says:

    Your photos remind us of what to look forward to! We’re in for another cold snap but I found a clump of species crocus in bloom in the front garden the other day.

  7. Chloris says:

    Marking time is a good way to describe it. That is how I feel too. I just can’ t wait to get on. More cold on the way? Oh no, I hope not.

  8. annie_h says:

    Yes we are all poised and ready, its nice to have a bit of a lull in the cold weather for a few days, but heard that it was going to get cold again towards the end of Feb. Think I’m going to head off to my plot now, make the most of the sunshine. Enjoy your weekend

  9. Jo says:

    The sun has put in an appearance here today, it’s lovely to have a break from the dullness and dreariness. I think gardeners are always anxious at this time of year to get the seed packets open and start something off but best to hold off for a while yet. I cut down on my veg growing last year but I’m cutting back even further this year, I shall grow just a couple of tomato plants in the greenhouse and perhaps a couple of containers of potatoes.

  10. karen says:

    So cheerful to see these flowers again. I can’t wait to see some colour in the garden again. Have a good weekend Mike x

Leave a Reply

