Better late than never

doris-day-magazine-collectors-editionOn Thursday I received a padded A4 envelope in the post that contained a copy of this Doris Day Collector’s Edition magazine sent to me by Glo/Porcelain Rose, who sadly stopped blogging nearly a year ago.  It’s a glossy magazine celebrating an American icon.  Glo’s card with it said…A different kind of sofa-lounging reading material! Couldn’t resist!  Merry Christmas, Mike.

If you’re slightly confused I should add that Glo posted this to me back on 7th December so it’s taken a while to arrive.  I would also point out that she knows that I’m a longtime Doris Day fan and back in 2013 she sent me a postcard from The Cypress Inn in Carmel, California where you can enjoy Doris’ Signature Tea everyday from 1 to 4 pm, husbands and pets welcome!

On Friday the post included two envelopes of interest.  One was from Jim, a longtime friend, which contained a birthday card.  That confused me as my birthday was three months ago.  I then noticed that he had posted it, first class, on 21st October, and he only lives a few miles away.

The other envelope was from Nikki over in Southern California and also contained a birthday card. I was even more confused and then when I looked at the envelope astounded to see that she’d posted it to me on 19th October 2015!  It was correctly addressed but someone had written Return to sender! on the back so goodness knows where it went or where it’s been for the past fifteen months.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Sofa flying. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Better late than never

  1. CJ says:

    Goodness me, it seems you’re living in a postal black hole. Glad it got there eventually, especially the Doris Day magazine which looks lovely. I wonder what else is circulating out there! Have a good Sunday Flighty. CJ xx

  2. Good things come to those who wait! X

  3. menhir1 says:

    Lots of interesting mail giving you much to think about, in the nicest possible way! I take it, from what you say, DD is now working in hospitality with afternoon teas of a unique type. Is she still involved in animal welfare too?

    Xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’m always happy to receive mail like that. She’s now in her mid 90’s so I guess takes a back seat nowadays. I think the hospitality has always been business related, and she has long been an animal rights activist which will probably her most enduring and personal legacy through her Animal Foundation and it’s sister charity. xx

  4. snowbird says:

    Goodness, the postal system seems to have it in for you! I often wonder what became of Glo…I do miss her posts and wit.xxx

  5. Liz says:

    What an extraordinary occurrence, and all those pleasures arrived within days of each other. Three’s the charm!
    I miss Glo’s verse. She has a real talent.

  6. Andy says:

    When I had a business I realised I was losing a fair bit of post (I received hundreds of pieces of post a month back then). Regularly a few people each month said they had sent in a payment but I never got it. I was in the sorting office one day and saw the box where my post was placed for the postman to pick up and I realised that it was possible for things to fall down the back of a great big cupboard (having just seen something slip down there). I enquired about it and 2 hefty chaps moved the cupboard and found no end of my post that had fallen down there 🙂 Simple little things cause these odd little things to happen 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Andy I’m not surprised at your story. I’m sure that there are plenty more instances where that sort of thing still happens.
      Thankfully, apart from these, I’ve had no other problems for a long time. Cheers.

  7. Jo says:

    How strange, it’s par for the course an odd thing going astray once in a while but for all those to go missing only for them all to turn up at the same time, very odd indeed. Perhaps it would be worth having a word with your sorting office, who knows what else you might be missing.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I miss Glo, too.
    What craziness has overtaken the postal system! You had rather a backlog of mail arrive all at once!

Leave a Reply

