Onions and potatoes

It was frosty and sunny again this morning so I had a quick look round the plot before heading across the road to the horticultural society trading shed where I bought the onions and potatoes that I’ll be growing this year.

onion-sets

 

The onion sets are the usual variety Sturon which I’ve always done reasonably well with. There’s slightly less than half a kilo here which only cost me a £1.

Last year I didn’t grow enough so I’m already having to buy them, whereas they would usually last through to around Easter time.

 

 

seed-potatoesI’m growing two varieties of first early potatoes, Pentland Javelin and Red Duke of York,  rather than one as I have previously.  I’ve not not grown the first of these before but they are a recommended popular variety.  The second early, salad, potatoes  Charlotte are my favourites so I always grow them and do well with them. This year I’m growing more than I usually do. Lastly I’m growing the usual main crop variety Desiree.  All varieties were £1-50 per kilo, and sold loose enabling me to buy the quantity and quality I wanted.  Sometime over the next week or so I will check all these over then start to chit them.

In a way this starts to get the new growing season underway even though it’ll be late March onwards before I start planting them out, providing that the weather is suitable. Let’s hope that spring this year is a better one than last year.

Have a good week.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Onions and potatoes

  1. Liz says:

    You have got an early start with the purchase of onion sets and potato varieties. It reminds me to place my seed order!

  2. menhir1 says:

    Busy preparing, but then, it is said, preparation is at least half the work.
    Mr F I don’t seem to be able to turn off all the comments you get. I ticked to be notified of new comments for one post to see if that would resolve the reply to my comments issue and instead, it seems I continue to get the comments for all posts. I’ll hunt around the site for remedies before doing anything drastic! Xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir yes indeed, and that’s true.
      Sorry to that you’re still having problems. I’ll have another look as well to see if I can find a solution. xx

  3. I never plant enough onions either, they get eaten so fast. A post to make you think of spring! Many thanks Flighty!

  4. annie_h says:

    Much better when you can just buy the amount of potatoes that you need and also enable you to try new varieties. Need to decide which varieties I’m going to grow but like you always go for Charlotte. So reliable. Think I’m going to grow less potatoes this year. Enjoy your week.

  5. CJ says:

    Great to see the first things of the year being acquired. Onion sets can be great value can’t they. My local garden shop sells them loose – you just put what you want in a paper bag. They work out at just a few pence, brilliant. Wishing you a good week. CJ xx

  6. snowbird says:

    The onions and potatoes are a great price! Here’s to the growing season kicking off soon.xxx

  7. I’m dithering about which potatoes to grow this year! I might try ‘Pentland Javelin’ though, and I too will be growing more potatoes this year. And I really must sow my shallots… The days are getting noticeably longer, the snowdrops and primroses are joining the witch hazel, Spring is around the (probably cold and grey) corner

  8. Jo says:

    You’re usually quite self sufficient with onions so how come you’ve run out so soon this year? Did you not grow so many last year or did they just not do so well for you? I’ve grown Pentland Javelin in the past, they’re a nice tasting variety. I cut right down last year with what I grew but I’m cutting down even further this year, probably just one potato variety and one tomato.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I grew more red ones which didn’t do well with most of them bolting so I couldn’t store them. That’s good to know. I think that growing less better is a good idea. xx

  9. karen says:

    They look really good quality sets and seed potatoes. It wasn’t a good year for onions last year. It was too wet in my garden, and they didn’t bulk up successfully. Hoping for a better year now, and I’ll be growing reliable Sturon too. I love Charlotte potatoes, and I’m looking for one more early variety to grow. Good luck with your garden Mike. All the best. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Karen they generally are and I’m well pleased with them. I agree, it was probably my worse year yet for onions. Let’s hope so, and good for you. Nice to see you like Charlottes. Thanks, and you with yours. xx

  10. Chloris says:

    They are cheap. You are well prepared. I always grow Charlotte but Desiree is a lovely potato too.

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Every time I see your onions and potato starts, I want to grow potatoes! Charlotte sounds absolutely delightful.

    We’ve already had a wonderful winter with 13.04 inches of rain this year. Our rain calendar goes from October of one year to September of the next. We’d had only 3.4 inches in the same time frame last year. So I’m looking forward to reaping the rewards this spring.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki you should grow a few in a container or big pot. They are probably the most popular variety over here, and rightly so in my opinion.
      In contrast it’s been a relatively dry winter here. I’m sure you are, and I’m hoping for a good spring too. xx

  12. Carrie Gault says:

    Great potato choices, gosh Mike, you are really quite prepared. We were in Tenerife there for a few days and haven’t recovered yet – we hiked round a volcano! The ground is wet here and only going to worse this week so plans for the lottie are on hold- eek, so much to think about xx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie thanks, and I like to think I am. So I saw, I hope you enjoyed yourselves. What a nuisance, the plot has been mostly frozen so I’ve just been pondering. xx

Leave a Reply

