I dream of summer sunshine…

on cold, dull and wet days like today.  On the plot that means red and yellow flowers, especially sunflowers, and vegetables such as tomatoes.

Among the knee-high sunflowers Musicbox that I grew last year were these sunny ones.

sunflowers-musicbox

The red tomato Gardener’s Delight is probably the most popular, and well-known,  of all varieties.  I’ll be growing some from seed along with the yellow variety Golden Sunrise, both of which I generally do well with.  One of the best plot pleasures has to be picking and eating a ripe sun-warmed tomato.

The last tomato on the windowsill Tiny Tim plant didn’t ripen in time for Christmas or New Year but I may well eat it later today.

the-last-tiny-tim-tomato-15-jan17

This year I’ll be growing at least a couple of these and hope to do even better than I did with this one.

Happy dreaming, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to I dream of summer sunshine…

  1. That’s a tasty looking tiny mouthful. 😊

  2. Liz says:

    The tomato looks like a perfect size for a salad. I see raindrops on the sunflowers!
    The seed catalogues are arriving in the post and help with the dreaming!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz is that a mini salad as it’s only the size of a cherry. I think that’s were I been watering them rather than rain. Happy browsing and dreaming. xx

  3. Andy says:

    This year I have a heated greenhouse, only low level heat, but it makes it all the more enjoyable. Have been sowing all sorts of Tomatoes, Peppers, Aubergines and leeks etc. The Polytunnel also makes a bad day weather wise into a good day. Every year the weather puts me off, and so I start in March, but this year is different. The other day we had sunshine, shining on the heated greenhouse,…it was summer for a few hours as the temp rose to almost 20 deg C! I’m left wondering why I hadn’t got a heater before now.

    • Flighty says:

      Andy a heater certainly sounds like a worthwhile investment if you want to get off to an early start sowing seeds as you’ve done. As I don’t have one it’ll be March before I get started. Cheers.

  4. plot34 says:

    Thanks for sharing the sunshine! I’ve been doing the same – looking back over previous years summer photos and planning for this year. I love sunflowers, always so happy.

  5. CJ says:

    Ooh, a fresh homegrown tomato in January, not many people are enjoying that! I was looking at some summer allotment photographs the other day, it’s such a different place in the summer, unrecognisable. Like you, I like to remember what it will be like a few months from now. CJ xx

  6. Chloris says:

    I love planning the seeds for the coming season and of course dreaming of summer sunshine. Lovely sunflowers.

  7. menhir1 says:

    Super sunny, just what we need. I could taste your Tiny Tim Tomato! xx

  8. Jo says:

    What I’d give for a little sunshine, it’s dull and drizzly here today. I always grew Gardener’s Delight but Maskotka has overtaken it for me in the taste stakes so that’s my cherry tomato of choice nowadays. How wonderful to have a home grown tomato straight from the plant in January, what a treat.

  9. karen says:

    Amazing to still have a fresh tomato growing in January. My tiny plant is still alive. I’m going to cut it back in spring and see what happens. Just thinking about which sunflowers to grow. The mini ones were spectacular last autumn, and the birds are really enjoying the seed heads now. I’m watching them from my office window. A double bonus really, in growing sunflowers. All the best, Karen x

    • Flighty says:

      Karen it certainly is. That’s well worth trying. It’s always hard to choose which sunflowers to grow isn’t it. That sounds delightful. Thanks, and to you. xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I was at a garden center a few weeks ago and they had tomato plants WITH tomatoes! I can’t imagine them doing well — even here — in January. That sunshiny Music Box is worth growing again. Very cheery indeed!

  11. snowbird says:

    Goodness, fancy being able to eat a homegrown tomato at this time of the year, well worth growing again. Thanks for the sunshine, we sure need it during our grizzly days. It’s always lovely planning what seeds to buy…xxx

  12. Caro says:

    I have a heavy cold today so seeing your bright and cheerful sunflowers was just what I needed, thank you! I agree that eating warm tomatoes straight from the plant is one of the great summer pleasures – but even better when you can eat a freshly picked tomato in January! What bliss! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Caro my sympathies and I hope that you feel better soon. You’re welcome. I agree, although I’ve not yet picked and eaten this one, I may do tomorrow. Yes indeed. xx

  13. Carrie Gault says:

    I’m a-dreaming but then I’m going off on to sunnier days in Tenerife 🙂 Yay, blue sky awaits.
    We don’t grow toms anymore but what a happy wee sight that red baby is – hope you enjoy xx

Leave a Reply

