Tree following, January 2017

Liz over in Lexington, Kentucky and myself are both Tree following again this year. Thanks to Pat, The Squirrelbasket, for kindly hosting it once again, and here’s a  comprehensive link detailing what it’s all about.

Liz will probably follow a Tulip poplar (Liriodendron tulipfera) sapling that she got free on Arbor Day last year.  That’s providing it has survived the winter.

I think that I’ll be following the dogwood that is on the plot.  I may have followed it before but feel that it’s worth do so again as it has year round interest, and hopefully I will also get to correctly identify which cornus it is. This photo was taken at the end of November after a hard frost so the stems were sparkly white rather than shiny brownish-red.

frosty-plot-dogwoodHave a look at this post to see what others are going to follow this year, and why not join us by following a tree of your own.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tree following, January 2017

  1. Liz says:

    Looking forward to our tree-following in 2017!

  2. I’m hopeless with dogwoods, although I can usual recognise the bright red and yellow ones in winter. I look forward to learning more.
    I will also be interested if Liz chooses a tulip tree, as I have been looking at them off and on in Cardiff parks for a few years but never chosen one as they are a bit tall to get up close and personal with. But I love them.
    All the best for now 🙂

  3. Does it have to be a big tree? I have an oak sapling in my garden, can I follow that? What a great idea!

    • Flighty says:

      Cathy no, it can be any size. Yes, you can follow any tree you like. It sure is. Have a look at the Tree Following link pages. If you have any questions email me via the contact me link shown at the top of this page. xx

  4. Pingback: Tree following link box for January 2017 | The Squirrelbasket

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Good choice — I love dogwoods but there are very few varieties that do well in our warm climate.

  6. snowbird says:

    I shall look forward to learning a little more about both, I saw a tulip tree for sale on a UK site recently, gorgeous!xxx

Leave a Reply

