Off to a quiet start

On Thursday morning this robin appeared as soon as I arrived to look round the plot.

robin-on-the-plot-5-jan16

For much of the time it was less than arm’s length away.  The dark smudges on it’s forehead and left flank looked like damp earth.

This morning was rather damp and dull so it all looked a bit dispiriting, although it was good to see a fox crossing the roadway towards the other end of the site.  I’ve not seen any for ages but know that they are still around.

I then went on to the horticultural society trading shed to renew my membership for this year, which cost me the princely sum of £1-50.  Over a cup of tea and some cake I chatted with the others about Christmas, the weather and the sad news that a long-standing member had died last week.

As I mentioned recently I’ve returned to the team of shed stewards, after an absence of some years, but my first stint isn’t until the end of the month. By then the onion sets and seed potatoes should be on sale so it could be a busy morning.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Off to a quiet start

  1. Jo says:

    What a lovely photo of the robin, I think he must have been foraging in the earth for some tasty morsels. I’m sorry to hear about the passing of one of the members of the site, sad at any time of year but even more so around Christmas and the new year. I didn’t know you were returning to the team of shed stewards, that’ll keep you busy. I expect it’s quite social though with everyone popping in for their odds and ends.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks, that’s what I think as well. He’d been ill for some time, in hospital for a couple of weeks and it wasn’t unexpected. They’re short of helpers and it’s only once every five weeks. Yes, especially once it starts getting busy again. xx

  2. Liz says:

    The robin’s expression is priceless. Looks as though he’s giving deep thought about where to go next!
    A new year – membership dues and you’ll be busy in the shed at the end of the month.
    Sad to hear about the loss of one of the plot members. Do you have a waiting list for plots?

    • Flighty says:

      Liz it sure is. He was flitting all over the plot.
      Indeed yes, here we go again.
      He didn’t have a plot, Anyone can join the horticultural society not just people with plots. There is supposedly a waiting list according to the council, but there are always empty plots which makes no sense. xx

  3. Husband went to pay my Lottie dues yesterday as I’m not fully recovered from fall I had before Christmas. Only made it to the plot twice last year! Husband went regularly though, and onions and garlic planted already. Dreadful year for us – 5 family deaths between June and end of August, then I lost my Motability car after DLA to PIP assessment. Now waiting for Appeal via Tribunal Service. We just hope this year is better! And I certainly live in hopes I’ll be fit enough to get to Lottie a bit more often, even if I just sit around and direct the under-gardener. 😉 Browsing flower catalogues for garden, really fancy a cut flower patch. Garden really took a hit last year with everything happening, it’s a mess, lawn is a flattened hay field. But we’ll get there in the end I trust.

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie hello I’m sorry to read that you had such a bad year. I hope you recover soon after your fall, and good luck with the appeal.
      Let’s hope that this year is a much better one, and you get to grow lots of flowers.
      Take care. xx

  4. plot34 says:

    I’m intrigued, what does a shed steward do?

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon apart from drinking tea and eating biscuits and cake we’re a bit like traditional shop assistants. One person mans the till, the others help customers, restock the shelves, sweep the floor and so on. I’ll do a post after I’ve done my first stint at the end of the month. xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    What does stewarding involve…ooh, I see plot34 above has the same question?
    Do you think it is the same Robin visiting you each time?
    It may seem quiet to you, however, there’s probably lots of silent invisible development about to stir under the soil.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir see my reply to Sharon/Plot 34 above.
      I often wonder that as there is certainly more than one on the site. Sometimes their markings are distinctive enough to tell if it is.
      That’s true, and I hope that it is doing that. xx

  6. CJ says:

    Sorry about the loss of your long-standing member, that’s a sad start to the year. Well done on volunteering for shed duty. I hope there’s time for the tea drinking and biscuit eating in between serving! Lovely to see your robin again, they are always close at hand at this time of year. Your membership is good value indeed, ours is £2, or £4 if you pay late. Have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it’s not a good way to start the year that’s for sure. Thanks. There will be! Yes, it’s always good to see them. I pay the senior citizen rate otherwise it would be £2. You too. xx

  7. karen says:

    Thought of you today Mike. I was visiting Queens Road Allotments in Leicester for a radio broadcast. You’d have loved to see the little sheds and greenhouses- all home made and so quirky. There was a little Robin following us around. I expect it was hoping we’d do some digging- instead of just talking! All the best. Karen x

    • Flighty says:

      Karen it sounds like you had a good day. I enjoy looking at sheds and greenhouses like that. It’s always uplifting to see robins. Thanks, and to you too. xx

  8. Caro says:

    I like the sound of a trading shed, there’s nothing like that on my local allotments which is a shame as it sounds like a community hub for gardeners. There have been plenty of foxes around the flats where I live over the past weeks, I’ve seen them several times and heard them almost every night – they’ve even jumped the fence into my veg patch, squashed the chard and knocked over the broccoli plants on a nightly basis! They’re young and healthy with lovely bushy tails which is good to see – in the past, our local foxes were looking rather yellow with skinny tails, presumably the result of eating badly. Happy new year, Flighty – hope it’s a good one! Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro they are a good idea, and as you say also provide a community hub.
      There are resident foxes on the allotments but I haven’t seen much of them for some time, apart from tracks all over plot. Young ones playing can be a pain when they cause damage like that. It’s always good to see healthy wild animals.
      Thanks, and to you too. Fingers crossed! xx

  9. snowbird says:

    Just love your tame robin, you could so easily have that bird eating out of your hand! How wonderful that you saw a fox, where one is …more are lurking. Lucky you! Enjoy your stewardship, hope your first shift isn’t too frenetic! xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I’m sure you’re right about the robin. There are foxes resident on the allotments but I’ve not seen much of them for a while. Thanks, me too. xx

  10. annie_h says:

    I have a robin who is always in my garden at the moment and I’m always going to have a chat to him. They sure know how to get close to you. Sad to hear about one of your fellow plot holders that is sad news to start the year. Your trading shed does sound like a great place to go to have a chat and a cuppa.

Leave a Reply

