Grow something new from seed…

I was pleased to receive the 2017 Chiltern Seeds catalogue a few days before Christmas, since when I’ve been browsing through it looking at the several thousand items listed on nearly two hundred pages.   There are common, exotic, rare and unusual plants from around the world ranging from just a couple of inches to the world’s tallest tree at nearly four hundred feet high.  Much as I would like to try growing many of them reality soon kicks in and I end up looking for plants that I can easily grow on the plot.  I’ve already got most of the flower, and vegetable, seeds that I need, and want, for this year so my forthcoming order will be a small one.

I’ve grown chicory before for the lovely clear, bright blue flowers but didn’t last year so that goes on the list, and I like the look of the newly listed nasturtium (Tropaeolum minus) Tip Top Mahogany which has golden-green foliage.

nasturtium-tip-top-mahogany

viscaria-oculata

Grow something new from seed is what it says on the front cover of the catalogue and most years I do just that. I’ve decided to try Viscaria oculata Formula Colours Mixed which it says is a cottage garden plant thought by some to be the most beautiful of hardy annuals.  I certainly like the look of them.

No doubt there will be other plants on my list by the time I’ve finished looking and ready to place an order.

 

Have a good week, and happy gardening in 2017!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Grow something new from seed…

  1. Dreaming over seed packets is one of the delights of the New Year for a gardener. Enjoy!

  2. Jo says:

    The catalogue came at just the right time for you to put your feet up and browse over the festive period. I like the look of the things you’re giving a go this year.

  3. Thank you so much for your wonderful blog!
    I wish you a wonderful New Year for you and your family!

  4. Liz says:

    One of the great pleasures and temptations of the winter season are the seed and plant catalogues. You are very disciplined! We’ll look forward to your reports as your selections grow.

  5. annie_h says:

    Me too Flighty, spent a good few hours reading that catalogue, its really interesting to read about the plants and they write such lovely descriptions don’t they? I’ve already placed my order!! Lots of new flowers and veg for 2017. Can’t wait to get going now. Happy New Year to you, hope 2017 grows well xx

    • Flighty says:

      Annie good for you, and I agree with what you say about it. Well done! You’ve lots to look forward to by the sound of it. Thanks, and to you too. Let’s hope so, for all of us. xx

  6. CJ says:

    Oh it’s lovely to have a good long browse through a seed catalogue isn’t it. I shall look forward to seeing the viscaria down on your plot in due course. Wishing you a very happy 2017 Flighty. CJ xx

  7. snowbird says:

    You just can’t beat leafing through seed catalogues! I do like your choices and admire your restraint.xxx

  8. Tom bought us a mattock for Christmas, and what’s more he has dug up various shrubs and stumps, that I’ve wanted to get rid of for ages (but not had the energy or strength) The garden now looks like it has had teeth pulled, but there are gaps to be filled: pass the seed catalogue…

  9. Happy New Year Flighty! Reading this post makes me realise that I should grow more from seed.. One day.. I like your choices, it’s so difficult to choose from so many! It’s been a busy time here and I have missed my garden and blogging.. hopefully this will be the week I can return now the fuzz of Christmas is beginning to clear.. happy seed buying x

    • Flighty says:

      Jenny thanks, and to you too. I enjoy growing from seed but sometimes wish a few more would germinate and grow. Too many is better than too few. I’m not surprised, and it’s the same for many folk at this time of year.
      Have a good week. Thanks again. xx

  10. I haven’t even opened it yet, I’m a little scared of all temptation within! I have grown viscaria in the past and they are lovely, in fact I had almost forgotten about them. I might copy … x

  11. menhir1 says:

    Such a riot of colour. Those Nasturtiums would make any salad bowl a special temptation! xx

  12. Jo says:

    A timely reminder that I need to dig out my giant seed stash boxes and plan for the new growing season. I know what I’m doing next weekend!

    I know I have some nasturtium seed tucked away somewhere – and those Viscaria look lovely!

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Well, I fell off the seed-buying-wagon, too, and have a small pile of seeds. This week has been all about pruning and digging, but hopefully some planting will take place soon.

  14. plot34 says:

    Flighty, a great choice of nasturtium. The colour combination of deep red and bright green looks superb. I look forward to seeing a ‘real’ picture of yours later in the year.

  15. Andy says:

    I’ve gone all modern….look through the seed catalogues then hop onto ebay to buy them half the price. Not good for the catalogue people but then I didn’t ask for the catalogues they just arrived. The prices seem horrendous this year, 5 or 6 Oca tubers for £5 or £6, but it cheered me up as I was digging my Oca tubers up by the spade full….I’m rich I thought to myself 🙂 Have a good year!

    • Flighty says:

      Andy this is the only seed catalogue I get nowadays, all the rest I look at on-line. Goodness I’ll have to work how much my oca tubers are worth. Thanks, and you too.

Leave a Reply

