Happy Christmas reading!

Among the various books that I’ll be reading over the next few weeks will be several seasonal classic crime stories.

murder-for-christmas-by-francis-duncan

 

One is the mystery Murder for Christmas by Francis Duncan which he wrote in 1949. Β It was the second in his Mordecai Tremaine series, and a book that I don’t think I have ever read.

 

silent-nights-christmas-mysteries

 

Another is Silent Nights – Christmas Mysteries which is an anthology of stories edited by Martin Edwards. Β It includes ones by well known authors like Dorothy L.Sayers as well as little-known writers such as Ralph Plummer.

 

hercule-poirots-christmas

 

For my e-reader I’ve bought Hercule Poirot’s Christmas by Agatha Christie. Β I’m sure to have read this, albeit a long time ago, but don’t recollect the story.

 

Happy Christmas reading!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Happy Christmas reading!

  1. VP says:

    We’ve just read and reviewed ‘A Christmas Carol’ in book club, I enjoyed it and was surprised how different it was to the various TV/film adaptations.

  2. Liz says:

    I really enjoy Dorothy Sayers and pulled The Nine Tailors from my bookshelf last year to reread. It sounds as though you’re well stocked with Christmas reading. Enjoy!

  3. CJ says:

    Nice to have a little festive reading isn’t it. I hope you enjoy them. CJ xx

  4. karen says:

    Happy reading πŸ™‚ x

  5. Jo says:

    I’ve just read Hercule Poirot’s Christmas and really enjoyed it, I’m sure you will too.

  6. menhir1 says:

    Murder wrapped up in various packages for Christmas….novel!
    XX

  7. Some excellent ideas! I always like an M. R. James ghost story at Christmas?

  8. snowbird says:

    What an interesting array of books. Enjoy!xxx

  9. Jo says:

    I’ve ordered a six for Β£10 range of books specifically for reading over Christmas. Hope you enjoy yours x

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I’m wondering which Sayers tale is in your anthology. She’s one of my favorites. Enjoy your reading!

Leave a Reply

