Tree Following, December 2016

tree-following-december-16-1Following last months Tree Following post all the leaves on the young oak tree soon turned brown, as this picture shows which was taken mid November.

 

Here it is between a lovely conifer and a butterfly loving buddleja, with the magnificent willow that I followed a few years ago in the background.

 

 

tree-following-december16-3

The leaves have now started dropping and it’s interesting to see contrast in colour between the front and back of them, with the latter being much lighter.

 

I’ve enjoyed following this tree through the year, and certainly learnt some new facts about oaks.

 

Thanks as usual to Pat, over on The Squirrelbasket, for hosting Tree Following this year, and I’m pleased to see that she will be continuing to do so next year.  I’ll be doing it again but have yet to decide on what tree to follow, although I do have one in mind.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tree Following, December 2016

  1. Jo says:

    I think it’ll be interesting to come back to this tree again in a few years time, I think you’ll see a big difference in it with it only being young. I wonder what tree you’ll choose for next year.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Chloris says:

    I love the way oak trees hang on to their leaves long after the others , they look wonderful at the moment.

  4. Liz says:

    An enjoyable year following your young oak. I fell by the wayside with my serviceberry a couple of months ago! Thank you for giving the space to report on it, Mike. Thanks too, to Pat at Squirrel Basket for hosting tree-following.

  5. Jo says:

    A lovely update. I gave my little oak tree a prune the other week, not sure if it was the right thing to do x

  6. Erika says:

    Oaks are nice trees to follow.
    I wish we had them where I live now.

  7. snowbird says:

    I have a young oak too, so have enjoyed comparing the two, mine held onto it’s leaves too. That willow is marvelous.xxx

  8. Excellent post!
    And I am so glad you are going to choose another tree in 2017.
    Merry Christmas 🙂

  9. Pingback: Tree following link box for December 2016 | The Squirrelbasket

Leave a Reply

