Feathered friends

robin-in-the-blackthorn

The robin has been around most days that I’ve been plotting usually arriving with a whirr of wings and a flash of red to perch either in the blackberry bush or, as seen here, the blackthorn.  Doing some forking over or hoeing means that he generally gets a few worms.

 

 

crow-on-the-water-tank

 

I always check the ponds and nearby water tank to make sure that they haven’t iced over and are topped up.  I do that so birds can drink from them.

Crows, as seen here, and pigeons drink from the latter.

 

 

 

robin-outside-the-hort-soc-trading-shed

 

I’ll be looking round the allotments later on before going to the horticultural society trading shed where I’m almost sure to see a robin.  This picture was taken when I was there a few weeks ago.  He’s on the path just outside the doorway waiting for some meal worms.

 

 

 

At home during the week I briefly saw a pied wagtail a couple of times which is an unusual sighting there so I hope to see it again to get a better look.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Feathered friends

  1. Awesome and blessing in sharing have good Sunday

  2. Jo says:

    It’s always lovely to have some bird company whilst doing a bit of digging. Pied wagtails are funny little things, dashing about here and there. I often see them in a car park near to where I live, they always look to have such busy lives.

  3. Carrie Gault says:

    Robins are the best, we had our coffee with a cheeky one at Mount Stewart yesterday. He and two great tits hang out by the outdoor cafe tables and get really fat from all the crumbs lying around 😄

  4. plot34 says:

    Robins are such characters. Your feathered friend looks very well fed.

  5. andrew littleford says:

    I have a Robin awaiting me, where I volunteer and in the garden here, both helping to make life feel better xx

  6. CJ says:

    Lovely shots, especially the top one. Robins are so fearless aren’t they. One came and stood next to me at the park yesterday, and we’ve had one on the bird table as well. And if I’m digging down at the allotment one usually appears as if by magic. CJ xx

  7. Liz says:

    I miss English robin redbreasts here in the U.S. Good company to have around. Just had a look at the pied wagtail on your link. What pleasure the birds will give us in the winter months.

  8. Anonymous says:

    More and alternative life continues on and around the plot while most plant growth rests. Xx

  9. Doris says:

    I just love your little Robins!

  10. Jo says:

    Lovely shot of the Robin, the bird folk in my garden always brings me great pleasure cx

  11. snowbird says:

    Robins are such friendly little birds, glad you have them, good you’re sorting the water too, I’m sure the birds are thankful.xxx

  12. It’s always lovely to have the robins company, I think their red colour is so cheery.
    But any bird company is good – I do like your photo’s.

    All the best Jan

Leave a Reply

