Three shades of white

Following on from last Sunday’s post here is another flower and more two vegetables that I’ll be growing next year.

almost-white-pot-marigoldThe pot marigold Snow Princess  is quoted as being the whitest one yet, and has both dark and light centres.

I have had a few creamy-white Flighty’s favourites, like this one, appear on the plot over the years.

It’ll be interesting to see just how white this new variety is.

 

This year I grew the black seeded French climbing bean Cobra and next year I’ll be growing another round podded variety Sultana which has white ones.

I’ve been recommended to try the runner bean Moonlight, which has white beans and flowers, a British variety bred which apparently performs well even in the poorest of weather.  This one has the RHS Award of Garden Merit.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Three shades of white

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. CJ says:

    I love white flowers, they glow beautifully in low light. I’ve grown Moonlight, they’re very pretty. I’m going for Celebration next year, the salmon pink ones. Have a good Sunday Flighty. CJ xx

  3. Liz says:

    I always feel assured when a plant has received the RHS award of merit. Your white flowers will look particularly lovely after dark next year.

  4. menhir1 says:

    You’re surrendering to lots of white for next year’s blooming, Mr F. I’ll be interested to see how genetically white the Marigold will be. xx

  5. Jo says:

    Some interesting varieties there. I think trying lots of new things is definitely the fun part of gardening, though I do like to stick with some tried and tested varieties too.

  6. plot34 says:

    I can recommend Moonlight, tasty and pretty much string less and good for our weather. I think I’ll have to find a spot for some ‘white’ Marigolds next year (hopefully construction and other hard labour will be complete by then!)

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Sounds like you’re growing some resilient beans next season. Hope your new pot marigold will be among those.

  8. Jo says:

    I was pottering in the garden this afternoon and spotted a marigold about to open. I hope the flower makes it. Not decided on which varieties next year yet, there will be both runner and french beans. X

  9. Chloris says:

    I love white flowers, this marigold looks very unusual. Interesting bean recommendations.

  10. snowbird says:

    That is a beautiful marigold, it will be interesting to see if it’s that white. I like the sound of your beans.xxx

  11. Christina says:

    The Marigold looks more like a Cosmos; if it really does look like that is there an advantage to growing a white marigold rather than a Cosmos, do you think?

  12. What a good choice, ‘Snow Princess’ looks like a stunning Marigold to try. I shall look forward to enjoying the results with you next year. X

  13. annie_h says:

    Nice to hear about the new varieties that you are thinking of trying, I like the idea of the white marigold. That looks lovely might try that myself. I’ve grown the white flowered runner bean called ‘White Lady’ which was really easy to grow so would recommend that also. That has an AGM too.

Leave a Reply

