Last rose and first daffodils

It rained most of Sunday and Monday so when I looked round on Tuesday morning I was relieved to see that although the ground was soggy it wasn’t waterlogged.

Last rose 'Pretty Lady'

 

The past week has seen a hard frost, heavy rain and high winds so yesterday  I was surprised to see what must surely now be the last rose Pretty Lady for this year.  

 

 

 

Daffodils apppearing

 

I was also surprised to see these first daffodils appearing.  They’re some of the ones that I didn’t dig up when I planted the new ones in September.

 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Last rose and first daffodils

  1. Awesome and blessing in sharing Mike

  2. Jennytc says:

    We had a couple of roses still blooming in December last year.

  3. Jo says:

    It’s amazing to see next year’s flowers appearing when this year’s haven’t yet finished. I’m always impressed by your Pretty Lady rose, she’s such a good doer.

  4. CJ says:

    Good to see the circular nature of it all – as somethings fade others are waiting to take their place. That last rose is gorgeous, hard to believe it’s been outside in all that weather. CJ xx

  5. karen says:

    That Pretty Lady rose is such a good do-er. Amazed to see the daffodils through so early. Must dash out and check my own. Have a good day Mike, all the best. Karen x

  6. Liz says:

    Amazing to see daffodil leaves popping through the soil in November. Pretty Lady is just that – pretty! I’m looking through my front window at the witchhazel, which never fails to produce its fuzzy yellow blooms each November. It’s been such a strange year weatherwise, hasn’t it? But there are our dependables and we are grateful.

  7. menhir1 says:

    The rose is seductive, I hope the weather conditions allow it to bloom to its natural end. I do wonder whether the sight of fledgling plants is just too premature. My Calendula seedlings popped up – really, not a good idea – and they have either popped themselves back or popped their young clogs.

    xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I hope it will. Some young plants and seedlings will be okay it it turns really cold but not all. Mine have too but won’t survive me hoeing the area over. xx

  8. Alison says:

    How wonderful to have that last rose. the weather has been ‘different’ – all I can say, my seed potatoes have all rotted due too wet weather, I’ve planted zucchini in replacement. So far they are doing ok. Have a lovely weekend Flighty. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    How lucky you are to have the last rose, what perfection too. Goodness…..daffs coming up already? That is early.xxx

  10. Allotmental says:

    I think last year my daffs were up by now.

  11. Chloris says:

    So exciting to see the first daffodil shoots appearing. Your late rose is a beauty.

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, that rose of yours — blooming here at the end of November. I can’t believe your daffs are already on their way!

  13. What a pretty rose, there are still a few straining with bud or flower, let’s hope some cold weather stalls your daffodils! X

Leave a Reply

