The flowers and vegetables…

Calendula officinalis 'Oops a Daisy'that I’ll be growing next year will be much the same as previously, although there will be some different varieties.

 

The flowers are mostly ones that I’ve saved along with a handful that I recently bought  from  Chiltern Seeds last month when they had a sale.  They included this colourful dwarf pot marigold Oopsy Daisy which I’m going to grow in the long planter once the crocus have finished, and try in a pot at home on the windowsill.

 

broad-bean-crimson-floweredAs usual I bought my vegetable seeds from MoreVeg. I ordered them online on a Sunday afternoon, got sent an email late the next day to say they were in the post and received them the following morning.  As well as being well packaged there was a hand written note which said…Hello Mike, Thank you for your order, Happy gardening, Rachel@MoreVeg.  The eleven packets of seeds cost just over £10- so were post free which was another bonus. If like me you only need small quantities of seeds then do try them.  I’m particularly looking forward to growing the broad bean Crimson Flowereda heritage variety that doesn’t grow too tall and mostly immune to blackfly.

(Pictures with thanks to Chiltern Seeds and MoreVeg.)

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The flowers and vegetables…

  1. Janet Cross says:

    ‘Crimson Flowered’ sounds rather splendid Flighty, and I love the look of Oopsy Daisy. I won’t be ordering my seed until January, my own personal tradition, but I do love starting to make lists at this time of year, and that broad bean might be getting added to a list right about now… Happy seed sowing and plant dreaming!

  2. Jo says:

    Oopsy Daisy, what a great name, and such a pretty flower too. I look forward to seeing those on your blog once they’ve flowered. I’ve always been impressed with More Veg, I like the personalised service, it’s not often you get that these days.

  3. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. menhir1 says:

    The planning for growth never stands still. xx

  5. CJ says:

    I grew those crimson flowered broad beans one year, they’re SO pretty, worth growing just for the flowers. Your veg seed people sound brilliant, and great value too. I ordered my seeds through the allotment society; just waiting for them to arrive now. I’ve ordered strawberry plants as well this year as I was disappointed with one of the varieties I had. Not sure when they’ll be here. Have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they certainly look rather different. They sure are. Good for you. My horticultural society trading shed stocks Kings Seeds at really good prices. I hope that your new strawberries do for you. Thanks, and you too. xx

  6. Liz says:

    What a delightful name, Oopsy Daisy! Memories of childhood.
    When “free shipping” is mentioned when I’m shopping online, I find that I’m more likely to place an order! Broad beans — yum.

  7. Thanks for the tip on seed suppliers Mike. I just visited the site and ordered two of the seed Gift sets in the November offers section. You should be on commission! 😀

  8. Jo says:

    I’ve grown ‘Crimson flowered’ broad beans several times in the past and they provide a perfectly acceptable harvest. I will be placing a Moreveg order soon, the pack sizes are ideal for me too x

  9. snowbird says:

    Moreveg sound an efficient operation, I must give them a try. Those beans sound good. I love collecting seed at this time of the year.xxx

Leave a Reply

