Winding down

I’ve been making the most of the few sunny days over the past week or so to do some hoeing, pruning and weeding.

Yesterday I weeded the raspberry patch, pulled up the cosmos and pruned the Michaelmas daisies.  That just leaves cutting the comfrey to add to the compost heap and digging up the oca tubers, both of which I’ll hopefully do next week.

red-valerian

 

It’s good to see new growth on the Red Valerian (Centranthrus ruber), which was still flowering a few weeks ago.

 

 

 

poached-egg-plant-seedlings

The poached egg plants (Limnanthes douglasii) are prolific self-seeders and already growing well around the dustbin lid pond for next year.

 

 

During the days when it’s been chilly, damp and dull I’ve spent some time seed sorting and now only have the pot marigolds (Calendula officinalis) left to do.  Much as I enjoy doing this I will be glad when I’ve finished.

I’ve also got most of the flower and vegetable seeds I want for next year.  As usual I’ll be buying onion sets and seed potatoes at the horticultural society trading shed in January.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Winding down

  1. CJ says:

    The red valerian looks great, it’s always lovely to see new growth at this time of year. My cosmos are still in place, and I shall wait and see what you find when you dig your ocas up before I do mine. Is your foliage still okay, or has the frost got to it? I haven’t been down to the plot for a couple of weeks so I’m not sure what mine is like. I think I shall leave it until a couple of weeks after the foliage wilts though. Wishing you a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m really please with it, and it sure is. Lucky you, the frost got my cosmos, and the oca foliage. I would if I was you as that’s when the tubers bulk up. Thanks, and you too. xx

  2. Jo says:

    It must be a relief to have everything done and sorted out before winter really does set in. I’ve always envied your very healthy patch of poached egg plant, I can’t get it to thrive here at all.

  3. karen says:

    I’ve still got so much to do. Must get on with it and catch you up Mike. All the best x

  4. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  5. menhir1 says:

    Hoeing and weeding is what I’d like to do Mr F. Using a hoe would be kinder to me to use, less back ache. However, everything here is so soggy, it has been at ground level for some time. I’ll just have to sit back and let it all just be.

    Your plans worked well this year. You certainly had a good growth recovery from difficult spring conditions. Your plans should come to fruition in the next year equally as well, if the weather is kind.

    xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir good for you. I prefer hoeing to weeding. With the rain we’ve had here it’s starting to get a bit soggy.
      They certainly did. Surprising so given what the spring was like. I sure hope so. xx

  6. It’s all sounding very organised, Flighty.

  7. Liz says:

    Love your planter and are those the poached egg seedlings forming a mass? You are ready. For a winter break. Well done!

  8. Chloris says:

    I envy you being so up to date and organised. Well done. I still have lots to do before winter sets in.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    And here I’ve been pulling out white valerian every chance I get! It’s a bit too prolific here and I didn’t heed the warning of a friend, “Be sure you really really want centranthus.” Sigh.

    But, then, you have those darling limnanthes spreading their cheer. Good luck with the new season’s seeds and plans!

  10. snowbird says:

    Good to see you on top of things, I love seed collecting but have got behind with everything of late, now my garden is buried under leaves and until the lot come down I see little point in moving them. It’s turned perishingly cold here now. Hope you are getting better weather.xxx

  11. I miss my allotment in Wales. They don’t do them in France, but just over the border in Switzerland there are masses of wonderful allotments for the people who live in the city. Lots of people fly national flags over their veg, so you get a good insight into the mix – lots of Italians, Turks, Serbs and cantonal flags for each Swiss region . It is a little peaceful United Nations bound up in onions, potatoes and a few vines!

Leave a Reply

