This was the view this morning

digging-out-compostEach day that I’ve been to the plot over the past couple of weeks I’ve dug out and sieved, using a blue plastic basket,  a wheelbarrow load of compost from one of the nearby communal wood chip bays.  I’ve put it on, then raked it across, two of the forked over vegetable patches.

I’ll continue to do this for the rest of the plot, as long as the weather remains good.

 

view-across-top-of-plot

This was the view this morning across the top end of the plot showing the still flowering pot marigolds, cosmos and asters.

Visible in the backgound are the bright red and yellow leaves on some Stag’s horn sumach trees (rhus typhina). Top left of the picture is the magnificent willow tree by the site gates.

 

 

tomatoes-tiny-timI’ve now eaten the last of the plot grown tomatoes, which lasted about two months,  but the windowsill Tiny Tim at home has about ten fruit which it looks like I’ll be eating in November.

A year ago tomorrow I was in hospital having my gall bladder removed.  This year I’ll be enjoying the day rather more as it’s my birthday, not that I’ll be celebrating it.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to This was the view this morning

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Best Wishes for your Birthday!

  2. elaine says:

    Nice to see so much colour around the plots. I can’t believe it’s a year since you were in hospital – how time flies. Wishing you all the best for a very happy birthday (even though you aren’t celebrating it) 🙂

  3. Liz says:

    That’s good-looking compost! Very attractive photo of the plot with the fall colours and still-blooming annuals.
    Many happy returns!

  4. cath says:

    Have a great birthday and glad you are still plotting. xx

  5. David Ford says:

    lovely best wishes for your birthday

  6. Jo says:

    That’s a lovely view of the plot, such a lot of colour still around. I can’t believe it was a year since you were in hospital, it shows how time flies. Happy birthday for tomorrow.

  7. menhir1 says:

    The angle of your photo offers a floral country garden 🙂

    You have been busy, the weather seems to have been kind to you.

    A year has sped by and I am happy you have recovered well from your op last year. In advance, may I wish you a lovely birthday. Xx

  8. Glo says:

    Happy Birthday Flighty!! Hope you have a remarkably wonderful day…and please do celebrate, at least with an extra chocolate digestive biscuit along with your tea 🙂 Your plot looks quite enchanting and looks like good results with the rake, wheelbarrow and sifter. Thinking of you on your birthday 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo hello, and many thanks. It looks like being a quiet day, which will do me, with some chocolate biscuits. That’s good of you to say so. That’s nice to know. Take care. xx

  9. annie_h says:

    What a glorious colour those trees are!
    A very happy birthday for tomorrow

  10. Happy birthday, Flighty. I hope the weather stays good for you.

  11. CJ says:

    Gorgeous photo of your plot, it’s looking so pretty. I hope you have a lovely birthday. CJ xx

  12. Wishing you a Very Happy Birthday Flighty! Hope your cup of tea was replaced with something stronger! Your plot is still looking wonderful and full of colour, looking at the heap of chippings is making me think of what a pile we are creating here! Hope you have a great week too xx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Can it be a whole year since you’ve had your hospital stay? I’m so glad you are still doing well, plotting along, amending your soil, and posting here. And since you’re 9 hours ahead, I can wish you happy birthday already! You may not officially celebrate, but we all raise a virtual toast 🙂

  14. Chloris says:

    Happy birthday! What a bonus it is having these last sunny days of October to catch up before the cold weather starts. You have a lot of lovely autumn colour on your allotments.

  15. The plot still looks lovely. You should celebrate your day, we never know what is next! Best wishes

  16. plot34 says:

    Belated birthday greetings. I like how you have repurposed the blue tray as a sieve.

  17. Steve says:

    Yes, it is sad when the tomato plants stop producing. The taste of fresh home grown toms is fantastic. I picked the last from our green house and that has now been cleaned out ready for various cuttings that have been taking root.

  18. Carrie Gault says:

    I celebrate the birthday of Flighty. My friend, the world has been a more lovely place with you in it and I glad we ‘met’.
    That’s a lot of good hard honest work going on at your plot, long may the weather hold and allow you time there xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie thank you for your kind words. The plotting has been on hold this week due to the weather but hopefully will resume in a day or so. Take care. xx

  19. snowbird says:

    Love that pic across your plot! Happy too that it’s a year since you were in hospital, and you are well…where did that go! I get not celebrating birthdays, I dislike celebrating mine….right after Christmas, I got over birthdays by the time I was about eight. STILL…..all the very best to you, hoping you had a good one, celebrating or not! Sending you my very best!xxx

  20. I had trouble saying ‘happy birthday’ the other day because I’d cleared my laptop of cookies etc. and couldn’t remember my WP password. So . . . I’m hoping it will work now and that, retrospectively, you had a great birthday and have had happy days since too!

Leave a Reply

