The Versatile Blogger Award

The Versatile Blogger awardI was kindly nominated for this award at the end of May by Sharon on her Allotment Life blog, and which I mentioned a few weeks later in this post. I notice that I said on her post that…it may be a while before I get round to doing it but I won’t forget. She replied…it took me more than two months to get around to doing it – you surely can’t be worse than that. 

Well clearly I can! So with due apologies and no excuses here are seven facts as much about my online persona as my real self.

My original online name was Flightbuff which I chose to reflect my lifelong interest in aviation and when I first googled it whilst wondering what to use I found, much to my surprise, that it showed no results.

Needless to say fellow bloggers soon starting calling me Flighty, and I’ve been happy to use that ever since.  Thankfully I rarely have to point out that I’ve never been flighty, as in being fickle or frivolous.

flightyMy Flighty avatar has always been the same one.  It’s a picture of  James Stewart when he was a bomber pilot serving in the USAAF during WW2. He’s my favourite actor who I’ve long admired, as well as being a distinguished pilot and fine man.

sofaflyerMy other online name is Sofaflyer,  which is my Twitter name. This originates to when I used to settle down on the sofa at home to read an aviation book or magazine.  I’m not sure if it was mum or me who first used it.  I sometimes use this book and glasses picture along with the name.

Sofa flying enjoying reading a good book, along with a cup of tea and a couple of digestive biscuits, has long been one of life’s best simple pleasures.

I’m not one for change so this blog has only had one theme change, and that was down to WordPress not me.  Being a bit of a minimalist I like a clean, uncluttered look which I like to think this blog has.

samathaI’ve used the same PC desktop picture for as long as I can remember.  It’s of Samantha, one of Nikkipolani‘s cats,  when she was a kitten.  I’ve always liked cats and dogs although I’ve never owned either, which I do sometimes regret.

As usual with such awards I’m not going to nominate anyone.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Blessing thank you for sharing Flighty have a blessed weekend

  2. CJ says:

    A lovely post Flighty, good to learn a little about you. Never too late to get a little dog to potter down at the plot with you! It’s something we’re considering here. CJ xx

  3. Jo says:

    Awww, I love the photo of Samantha, I can see why you’ve kept that, afterall, why would you want to change it? Well done on another well deserved award.

  4. Chloris says:

    Congratulations on being nominated for this award. Interesting to read about your love of aviation. It is something you share with the Pianist. He finally got his pilot’s licence 15 years ago. I have to say I find flying in a small aeroplane terrifying. But it is nice to be able to pop over to Le Touquet for lunch.

  5. plot34 says:

    Thanks for sharing Flighty. Well done for finally getting around to it.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, yes, I remember the Flightbuff moniker and the aviation photos you used to link. Maybe I should refer to Sammy as “your cat”! Dina has claimed Wimsey 😉 I will report that she is doing very well health-wise. She’s also been a very good girl outdoors (i.e., stays in the yard) and retained her privileges. However, we just heard that coyotes are walking our sidewalks (!) and everyone is grounded for the near term.

  7. menhir1 says:

    I think you were Flightbuff, just, when I first made contact with you. That seems ages ago. For some unfathomable reason, I remember, for a short time, referring to you as Mr McFlighty!!

    It’s nice that you are appreciated Mr F. And highly thought of by lots of people and bloggers. Xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir that was ages ago! That was to do with a post I did about a tartan waistcoat I bought in a charity shop.
      That’s kind of you to say so, on both counts. xx

  8. Liz says:

    Congratulations on your Versatile Blogger award! It is interesting to learn a little more about people. It’s a good combination to spend the milder months plotting and the colder ones reading and planning. And, a cup of tea and digestive biscuits go well with everything! How cute Samantha is.

  9. snowbird says:

    Congratulations, how lovely getting to know a little more about you! Love that you use the pic of your Sammy!xxx

Leave a Reply

