Sofa flying with a good book

When I’m not plotting much, if at all, over the coming months I’ll certainly be enjoying spending time sofa flying with a good book.  I’m a lifelong book buff and generally read at least two books a week, as well as referring to others almost daily.

I’ll be rereading some of my gardening books such as The Natural Gardener by Val Bourne, Our Plot by Cleve West  and the informative Grow Organic reference book.
death-at-the-seaside

I go to the library every week where I usually collect one or two recently published novels that I’ve reserved and then happily browse the bookshelves.

 

I’m looking forward to reading Death at The Seaside by Francis Brody and The City in Darkness by Michael Gillespie, both published this month.

 

 

I’ve just bought a second-hand copy of The Case of the Gilded Fly by Edmund Crispin, written in 1944. If I enjoy it I’ll buy more in the series.

It’s damp and dull here today so later on I’ll be settling down to start The Ballroom by Anna Hope, which is set in 1911 inside an asylum at the edge of the Yorkshire moors.  It’s certainly rather different to my usual reading choices.

Happy reading, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sofa flying with a good book

  1. Awesome and thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  2. Jo says:

    I like the sound of all your choices, especially Death at the Seaside and The Ballroom, you’ve got a bit of a Yorkshire theme going on at the moment. It’s a miserable, rainy day here today, definitely a good day to hunker down with a good book.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’ve enjoyed all the Kate Shackleton books so far so looking forward to reading Death at the Seaside. I started seed sorting as well as reading. It’s better here today. xx

  3. Liz says:

    You have a wide array of books to read! Enjoy! It’s headed to the 80sF here and a fortnight without rain after a dry September, so it’s water, water, water before sitting down to really get “into” a good book.

  4. menhir1 says:

    You’ve got a lot of literature lined up for the next few weeks, with presumably a lot more to come for the deep, deep winter. Xx

  5. plot34 says:

    Your post inspired me to have a bit of an Amazon browse. The day improved and the ground was much easier to dig. Enjoy your books.

  6. Chloris says:

    Ah, a fellow bibliophile! We are a dying breed. Books are as important to me as plants. People don’t seem to read books much anymore. Libraries have fewer and fewer books. Mobile libraries in rural areas are under threat. But at least second hand books are easier to get hold of.
    On a Yorkshire theme, I am rereading Wuthering Heights for the first time since ‘ A’ level. Amazing how your perspective changes. What I thought was a love story, now appears to be a book about obsession and revenge. I will look out for your Anna Hope book.

  7. CJ says:

    Oh how I love sofa flying with a good book. Utterly blissful. I’m a frequent library goer as well. And also currently re-reading Our Plot which is always inspirational. Here’s to lots of happy winter reading. CJ xx

  8. princessines says:

    I use up the spare time provided by winter with reading and crochet…I will check out your book list…thanks

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Oooh, these look interesting. I’m always looking for referrals. It’s great that your local library has such recently published offerings.

  10. snowbird says:

    I like your choices! I’ve just bought a bunch of charity shop books, I’m looking forward to getting my nose stuck in!xxx

  11. Happy reading Flighty! I keep telling myself that I should read more, and maybe one day I might when time allows and distractions are less.. xx

  12. pianolearner says:

    I am currently reading about a Canadian who hitchhiked through Japan following the blossom.

Leave a Reply

