Plotting this week

a-plot-robin-10-oct16

I didn’t do any plotting at the weekend but have made up for it since then.

 

On Monday this robin kept me company for much of the morning mostly hiding in the blackberry or rose bush and occasionally coming out in the open as seen here.

 

 

the-plot-asters

I’ve been watching honey bees on the asters Michaelmas daisies which are flowering profusely.  Unfortunately  the white Twinkling Stars one died earlier in the year as roots rotted in the soggy ground, however I hope to replace it next spring.

 

yellow-nasturtiums

 

It’s been noticeably cooler this week but thankfully there haven’t been any overnight frosts so I’ve continued to enjoy the nasturtiums.

And there are still plenty of my Flighty’s favourites pot marigolds including this pale pink one.

a-pinky-pot-marigold

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Plotting this week

  1. Love to have a robin ‘helping’

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  3. Mark Willis says:

    There are loads of Michaelmas Daisies along the sides of the M20 and M26 at present. They look lovely.

  4. CJ says:

    Asters are fantastic for bees aren’t they. Something I’d like to grow at some stage. It’s always the fancier one that succumbs isn’t it. I’m on a roll down at the plot at the moment – four days in a row last week and four days in a row this week. The allotment has forgiven me my neglect and is fairly tidy now and ready for a winter rest. Although there are always more things to be done down there. But I’m happy to have it in reasonably good shape again. Have a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they sure are. Good for you. So it seems, sadly. Well done, it sounds like you’ve been busy. There’s always something else to do on the plot. I’m sure you are.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  5. You did well to get so close a shot of the robin. Must have been very trusting and sensed your gentle nature. 🙂

  6. Jo says:

    What a lovely photo of the robin, it always makes me smile when I have a bird watching over me whilst I’m busy working in the garden. We had our first frost last week but none since then, thank goodness. Dull and rainy here today.

  7. princessines says:

    thanks for sharing once more…..adding more flower names to my list…

  8. karen says:

    That robin is so cheerful! Quite a lot of my Michaelmas daisies died in the waterlogged soil this year. I will improve drainage and try again. They’re are so lovely at this time of year. Haven’t managed to do anything in the garden this week as it’s just rained and rained. Hoping for a dry spell so that I can tidy up- before it gets too cold out there. Thanks for sharing. Particularly love your pot marigolds, our favourites 🙂 x

  9. hertzpottery says:

    Beautiful photo of a cheerful robin!

  10. menhir1 says:

    What a delight, a pink Marigold! I am not sure if I have seen one, but then I don’t know if I would as I focus on growing Calendula as opposed to the other varieties.

    The Robin does look very perky, but then, he did have you all to himself.

    Isn’t it marvellous that there are still very strong summery blooms to be seen in mid October. We’ve had a couple of night frosts this week yet even I still have a number of flowering plants holding up very well.

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir all my pot marigolds are calendula, including this one.
      It sure does, and did.
      Yes it is, and I hope it lasts at least a couple more weeks. You must be pleased that they’re still okay. xx

  11. Chloris says:

    I wonder where the robins get to in summer, they have just appeared again. It has certainly turned cooler, I hope the frosts will hold off for a bit longer.

  12. Liz says:

    How cute the robin is! My asters (New England, smooth leaved, and Short’s) are all adding shades of light blue to purple in the garden right now. Hope the frost stays away awhile longer so you continue to have blooms.

  13. snowbird says:

    Your pink marigold is gorgeous! How cute your little robin is, they are such delightful little birds aren’t they?xxx

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Shame about Twinkling Stars — I do love Michaelmas daisies and yours had done so well. It’s terrific to see how long-blooming the marigolds are. With travels and darker evenings, I’ve done nothing in the garden 😦 but planning to do some amending of the soil soon.

Leave a Reply

