It’s The Year of the Cosmos

Last Sunday when I was at the horticultural society trading shed fellow member and friend Marge took me to her plot to show me the cosmos that she’d grown from seeds that I’d given her early in the year.  I was amazed to see a six foot high jungle of foliage covered in white and pink flowers.   Among them them I noticed these two rather pretty white with a hint of pink ones.  Needless to say I collected some seeds to grow next year.

one-of-marges-cosmos  another-of-marges-cosmos

It’s The Year of the Cosmos and RHS Wisley have been trialling more than eighty varieties which you can read about here.

Chiltern Seeds currently have a seed sale on so last week I ordered and received a few packets of flower seeds, including some cosmos, which are on my list to grow next year. I’ll be placing another order early in the New Year once I’ve received and looked through the forthcoming 2017 catalogue.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s The Year of the Cosmos

  1. CJ says:

    I’m a huge fan of cosmos, the bees love them and they just seem to go on and on. I’ll definitely be growing them again next year. CJ xx

  2. Jo says:

    They’re so pretty tinged with pink. I think cosmos are wonderful flowers, very attractive and good doers.

  3. Liz says:

    How pretty those cosmos are! I didn’t know it is “the year of the cosmos”. They are certainly a dependable flower.

  4. Allotmental says:

    I’ve never had much luck with Cosmos but they look great 🌼

  5. Doris says:

    I LOVE Cosmos! Someone in my neighbourhood has a “hedge” of them in front of their house and I admire them every time I pass by.

  6. Nichola says:

    These cosmos plants are beautiful! Think I’ll add some to my wish list for next year too!! I was rewarded well this year from growing the Versailles Tetra variety which were my first ever grown plant from seed 🙂 look forward to seeing your choices Flighty! Happy gardening xx

  7. I really like the one on the left; that pink centre is beautiful.

  8. menhir1 says:

    You must be really proud of the quality of the plant and flower your Cosmos seeds generated. XX

    (Still no notifications of your replies 😦 ho hum).

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, that second one is especially sweet. That tiny margin of pink is unique! How fun to find some beauties in the jungle 😉

  10. Awesome update i am going to try and see about growing some seed for next year. i was silly i did not dig the ones up from my last garden never mine. have a blessed day

  11. snowbird says:

    How pretty they both are! I love cosmos but mine failed miserably this year, a first for me as they usually grow like weeds here.xxx

  12. Caro says:

    Both are very beautiful so well worth saving seed for next year. I have my eye on the ‘Antiquity’ cosmos from Chiltern for next year.

Leave a Reply

