It’s a sunny Sunday morning…

a-plate-full-of-beansAll the climbing beans have now been picked and shelled.  The big ones are runner beans St.George, the black ones French climbing beans Cobra and the others Barlotto Lingua di Fuoco.

On Friday I pulled the plants up and added them to the compost heap,  put the canes away then dug the area over.

 

 

oca-plant-foliage

 

That just leaves the Oca. The foliage is looking okay, although there’s been no sign of any flowers.

Reading this webpage I see that I need to wait until after it’s been frosted, hopefully sometime during November, before lifting the tubers.

 

 

 

It’s good to see see blue asters Michaelmas daisies now flowering, and buzzing with bees.

asters-michaelmas-daisies

It’s a sunny Sunday morning so I’ll be off to look round the plot before going across to the horticultural society trading shed for a chat, along with a cup of tea and a couple of biscuits which I’ll be sharing with any of my four-legged friends if they’re there.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It’s a sunny Sunday morning…

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. sowgrowrow says:

    I grew Oca last year, you do wait till the first frost kills it off. Then cut them in half long ways and roast them with a bit of garlic – Yummy.

  3. Liz says:

    How do you cook the shelled beans? Do you dry them too?
    My asters (Michaelmas daisies) are in full bloom and a magnet for bees.
    You’d be popular with my doggies. They love biscuits!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I usually add to potatoes, rice or vegetables that I’m cooking. I let the pods dry but don’t do anything else.
      They sound lovely.
      I’m sure I would. So do I. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Asters always, to my mind, are at their perkiest best in planted situ, rather than in the numerous bouquets in which I have seen them mixed.

    You seem to have got quite a lot of flower and fruit varieties from the plot this year, notwithstanding the wet and damp period early on. Your beans are a picture!
    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I agree that they usually do, particularly the blue ones.
      I probably grow less vegetable but more flower varieties than many plotters. Thanks. xx

  5. Jo says:

    It’s sunny here but I can feel a chill. Have you saved the bean seeds for next year? I’ve managed to save some sweet pea seeds. They had beautifully long stalks for cutting x

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it was chilly first thing today but been a lovely sunny day. I usually save some seeds for next year. Good for you. That’s good as short stems aren’t much good are they. xx

  6. plot34 says:

    All looking lovely. Have a great week.

  7. Jo says:

    I love seeing all the different beans like that, they’re so tactile, I can’t help but play around with them. We woke to sunshine too so we headed off to the coast for the day, Archie was in his element running in and out of the rock pools.

  8. CJ says:

    I pulled an oca up the other day, and it had nothing at all attached in the way of tubers. Should have read your post first! I shall wait until November and try again. CJ xx

  9. Good way to spend your Sunday Flighty

  10. snowbird says:

    What a marvelous array of beans! How appetising they look. I’m glad to hear you have sunshine, we have really strong winds.xxx

  11. You can’t beat a chat and a cup of tea with fellow like-minded people, like it! Xx

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Those beans look so pretty — what a fun variety. I wonder how they look cooked up.

  13. Alison says:

    Great collections of seeds! I love collecting the bean pods and shelling them, they’re fairly big and easy to handle.

Leave a Reply

