It’s the end of September…

and I’ve now planted all the new spring bulbs that I bought recently.

The white crocus Snow Bunting are by the dog rose in an area that has previously always been left bare.  The white nacissi Thalia are where the hawthorn tree was and the dwarf yellow Tete-a-tetes  all around the dogwood.

I was going to dig up all the old bulbs but only lifted some leaving the crocus that are by the rose Pretty Lady and a group of large flowering daffodils near the rhubarb.

I’ve still to decide what, if any, bulbs to plant in the long container in which I usually put some crocus.  I’m thinking that I may try dwarf tulips for a change.

red-nasturtiumAs well as the cosmos and pot marigolds that I mentioned and showed last Sunday there are still some orange, red and yellow nasturtiums around the plot providing welcome brightness, especially on dull days like today.  I like the deep red ones, which with their yellow throats seem to glow.

 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to It’s the end of September…

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Thanks for the reminder! Last year I got my bulbs from Morrisons. Although they were quite cheap they did brilliantly well. I must get some more…

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day you reminded me i need some more bulbs for front and back gardens

  3. Jo says:

    You’re on the ball with your spring bulbs, I haven’t even bought any yet never mind planted them.

  4. princessines says:

    that’s it…I’m off to the shops bulb shopping this weekend..thanks for the inspiration….it’s going to be my first time…wish me luck…

  5. CJ says:

    Yes, it’s that time of year again isn’t it. I don’t usually put in any spring bulbs, but I might fill a pot or two this year, they’ll be an early season treat. I like the sound of dwarf tulips. CJ xx

  6. menhir1 says:

    Your ‘glowing’ description of Nasturtiums made me smile, especially when I compare it to my experience of them when I was not so far away from where you are. I guess you don’t have several Sycamore trees around and about to encourage the less attractive side of the flower. It took about two or three years to rid that garden of those prolific self-seeders. Nasturtiums behave rather differently in the far north.

    I am still no receiving any notifications of replies from you. I haven’t gone to step 2 yet, as I don’t know if you have the invitation I sent through the system.

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it’s interesting what you say. I don’t mind any of the flowers self-seeding as they’re easy enough to hoe off or pull up if I don’t want them.
      No, I’ve not received the invitation from you. xx

      • menhir1 says:

        It is weird that the invitation from the ‘send invitation’ facility hasn’t winged its way to you. I wonder if it works! There are a number of outstanding ones where I haven’t found the individual’s activity showing up, possibly suggesting they haven’t received their invitations either. Gremlins— doh!

        Meantime, I have done a bit of clicking around trying re-linking even though I am clearly ‘algorithmed’ as following you. I remain scratching my head. (In case you are wondering, I found this reply of yours in the Reader, on the actual WP website). xx

  7. Liz says:

    We’ll look forward to seeing the results of your bulb planting in the spring! I bought 12 allium “Purple Sensation” on impulse at the local supermarket last week and do have a bulb catalogue that I need to go through.
    The nasturtium is a lovely color.

  8. Our seasonal change is just a touch behind you so this weekend will be my time to plant new bulbs and to get the garden ready for winter.

  9. It sounds like you’re in for a treat come springtime, Flighty. Dwarf tulips would be nice.

  10. Hi Flighty, I love Thalia, I’ve got some under the lime avenue, they bring us immense joy and scent in the spring. Have you thought of muscari, under planted with tulip ‘ice sticks’ inside your long container maybe? Have a wonderful weekend too xx

  11. nikkipolani says:

    I love nasturtiums and agree with you on the glowing nature of the ones with yellow blended in. Unfortunately, they make me sneeze, so I haven’t grown any in ages.

  12. Caro says:

    Sounds like you’ll have plenty to look forward to in the springtime, Flighty. I always treat my bulbs as perennials by leaving them in the ground and have, so far, had good displays. I usually add to them as well. Funny that we’re all thinking about spring already and the sun is shining today! Hopefully this autumn will be a good one! Caro xx

  13. snowbird says:

    Nasturtiums are such pretty trailing plants aren’t they? They need little care. Good to catch up with what you’ve been up to, good you have your spring bulbs in already.xxx

  14. Chloris says:

    I have got my bulb order, but getting them all in is another matter. Well done you.

Leave a Reply

