Autumn colour on the plot…

is being provided by some of the annual flowers, notably the cosmos and pot marigolds.

two-cosmos-purityThe cosmos – white Purity, red Velouette and pink ones (variety unknown) – have done really well this year.

two-cosmos-velouette

zingy-orange-and-almost-whte-pot-marigoldsThe second flush of pot marigolds have been smaller but still include the full range of colour combinations and variations ranging from zingy orange to creamy white.

almost-white-pot-marigolds

This coming week, which looks like being breezy but mostly dry, I’ll be planting the rest of the bulbs having now finally decided where they’re going and I may even cut the grass paths one last time for this year.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Autumn colour on the plot…

  1. CJ says:

    Yes, grass is needing a cut here too. Cosmos are wonderful aren’t they. I have one that’s just opening now and I know it will go on and on. I hope you have a good week. Rain here tomorrow, but then I shall be going down to the plot. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it never stops growing does it. They sure are. That sounds wonderful. Thanks, and you too. There’s been some here this afternoon. Good for you, me too. xx

  2. Jo says:

    It’s lovely to see so much colour still around, I do like those creamy coloured marigolds. It rained this morning but I’m hoping that the grass dries out enough to get it cut this afternoon, it’s really long at the moment.

  3. Liz says:

    The annuals are great for providing us with colour all season long. Here, (central Kentucky) we’re entering our sixth week with only one tenth of an inch of rain in September and hot temperatures. Colour here is from perennials: goldenrod and asters.

  4. Awesome update blessing in sharing have a great week

  5. menhir1 says:

    Gosh! everything is springing to life….it all looks positively spring-like.
    xxx

    Did you find my invitation Mr F?

  6. I feel that my cosmos have taken until now to get going, yours look lovely. I too am starting thinking about bulbs, it must mean Autumn is fast approaching

  7. annie_h says:

    Still lots of colour on the plot, looking great. My Cosmos are still going strong and after cutting back some of my californian poppies they are flowering again and the calendula. Think the rains have helped my plot have a second blast of growing

  8. karen says:

    My cosmos just keeps going on and on. And the pot marigolds have been the best ever this year. All the best Mike. x

  9. Beautiful colours in those blooms …

    All the best Jan

  10. nikkipolani says:

    A lovely autumnal collection.

Leave a Reply

