It’s been good plotting…

lady-christl-first-early-potatoesweather this week so I lifted the first early potatoes Lady Christl that I planted in July. They’re mostly small with the ones in the middle of the picture being egg-sized.  I only used a hand-fork so I may find a few more when I dig the area over. All told I’m well pleased and will grow them again next year.

tomatoes-various

 

The various tomatoes that I’ve had in a tray on the window still the past couple of weeks are now ripening faster than I can use them.  As I’ve previously mentioned given the poor start they had back in June I’m amazed at just how many I’ve  ended up with.  The ones remaining on the plants are starting to be affected by blight so I will bring home any that are okay to ripen.

 

tiny-tim-tomato-plant

 

 

The tomato Tiny Tim is still producing flowers and fruit, which are no bigger than a finger tip. This has been the best one yet that I’ve grown on the window sill, and I will grow one or two again next year.

 

 

 

borlotti-beans

 

The French climbing and runner beans have just about finished but I’ll wait for the Borlotti to dry before removing them, along with any of the others,  to shell and use. These were all slow to germinate and grow but ended up doing surprisingly well.

I’ve lifted  a few more beetroot Boltardy and that’s about it as far as vegetables are concerned for this year, which hasn’t been as bad a year as it looked like it was going to be back in the early summer.

 

Happy gardening , and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It’s been good plotting…

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Have you tried eating the Borlotti “green”, before they dry out? They are delicious that way.

  2. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  3. Liz says:

    Wow, Mike! That is an impressive harvest of potatoes and tomatoes. Well done.

  4. Chloris says:

    I think it is a brilliant idea planting potatoes in July for a late crop. Wow, I am impressed by your tomato crop, I haven’ t bothered this year but I do miss them.

  5. Watching the fall harvest arrive is always such a wonderful time, I really enjoyed your photo series.

  6. Jo says:

    That looks like a good haul from your spuds. My tomatoes have been affected by blight too, it’s a first for me, they’re usually safe in the garden but not this year. I’ve managed to get enough tomatoes off the plants after a slow start but it’s been my worst tomato year ever.

  7. CJ says:

    Yes, Mark’s right, green borlottis are lovely. I didn’t grow any this year, and now I’m wishing I did. Well done on all of those fantastic tomatoes. I had a reasonable tomato year, but blight kicked in earlier and worse than normal so they’re all out now. No beetroot either this year, they just didn’t get going. I do of course have high hopes for next year… CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      Cj I’ll bear that in mind for next year. I always grow a few. Thanks. Shame yours got blighted. I’m surprised at how well the beetroot have done. Good for you, so do I. xx

  8. menhir1 says:

    A good looking crop. How do you store your potatoes?
    I sent you an invitation to connect, did you see it?
    xxx

  9. karen says:

    A good looking crop Mike. I hadn’t thought of planting potatoes in July. It’s a good idea, as my Charlotte potatoes have just run out. I’ve had success with some self sown Red Robin mini bush tomatoes. Hardly any work to grow them. Will try your variety as well next year. Enjoy the weekend x

  10. yorkshireman says:

    You’ve done ok mate. We planted kohlrabi, last year we had dozens of cricket ball sized. This year, not even snooker balls.

  11. How nice to be lifting potatoes at this time of year. It looks like those worked out really well for you.

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, I remember what a dismal start you’d had. Oh, how tasty those taters look!

Leave a Reply

