I’ve only been plottering,…

that is plot pottering, for an hour or so in the mornings the past couple of days as it’s been sunny and very warm with temperatures reaching nearly 30C/85F by mid-afternoon.

This is another pink-rose cosmos with a single stem nearly six feet high and a handful of flowers at the top.  Judging by the height, flower size and darker shade surrounding the boss of yellow stamens I’m pretty sure that’s it’s a self-seeded cosmos bipinnatus Gloria that I grew last year.

cosmos-gloria

A few California poppies (eschscholzia californica) have germinated and grown over the past few months and are now flowering.

california-poppies

Sadly it looks like this is one of the last of this years rose Pretty Lady blooms, which has been flowering almost continuously since mid-May.

rose-pretty-lady

It looks like being sunny and very warm again today but thankfully tomorrow should be cooler, but rather wet.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I’ve only been plottering,…

  1. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  2. Chloris says:

    I love your neologism ‘ plottering’, a perfect description. It has been too hot to work in the garden and anyway the ground is like concrete. Today is hot again, another hammock day. It’s a hard life!

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris me too but I can’t take the credit for it, I think someone used it in a recent comment here. It’s certainly not been gardening weather has it. It sure is. xx

  3. CJ says:

    Lovely cosmos. Some of mine down at the plot have turned out to be white (you may recall my packet of white seeds were mostly deep pink) and they’re doing well and attracting loads of bees. A shame to see the last of your roses, but that bush really does incredibly well. Enjoy the rest of the week, and I hope the rain isn’t too torrential. We have weather warnings here so I’m expecting a downpour. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. That’s good to know, you must be pleased. Yes it’s always sad when it finishes blooming for the year.
      Thanks it’s been very wet and I’ve had two power cuts. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Lovely warm summery prospects in these flowers.
    Here it was cold by tea time and I put on my central heating!
    Mr F. I am not receiving any reply notifications from you. I have checked my settings all seems well there. I am wondering if we should go through a re-connection…what do you think? This is paradoxical as I probably won’t receive a reply to this question. However, like you, I do have a ‘contact me’ button on my home page. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir thanks. Goodness I don’t like the sound of that.
      How annoying, and I think that trying again is a good idea as I don’t know what else to suggest. Let me know how you get on. xx

  5. Jo says:

    We’ve woken to fog for the last two mornings but it’s cleared mid morning and come out lovely and sunny. It’s sad to see the last of the flowers for another year but your Pretty Lady seems to do so well, and as time seems to be going so fast, she’ll be flowering again before we know it.

  6. VP says:

    I love your Californian poppies, sadly I’ve not had success with them yet, but I saw some wonderful ones in a trials field last month along with some deep magenta cosmos which I’m planning to grow next year. Thanks for your comment over at mine – I’ve updated my post as a result 🙂 xxx

  7. Nichola says:

    Wow Flighty what a vibrant variety of flowers to greet you down at the allotment!! Certainly makes me feel cheery looking & reading. Happy Plottering 🙂

  8. Liz says:

    Love the “plottering” – reminds me of Winnie the Pooh! Gorgeous late summer colours. Hope we get rain here too; it’s been a month and everything is so thirsty.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness, 85F? Your California poppies are happy indeed! We had a respite from the 90s, but will be back at it starting tomorrow 😦

  10. Great to see I’m not the only one that ‘plotters’! Love it x

Leave a Reply

