Tree Following, September 2016 – Liz’s serviceberry

Here in Lexington, Kentucky through August and early September the temperature has been around 90F/32C, and there’s been no rain for several weeks.

As a result my serviceberry has suffered and dropped over half of it’s leaves. Some nearby trees such as the silver maple, pin oaks and Kousa dogwood have all fared better.

lizs-serviceberry-sep16-2

lizs-serviceberry-sep16-3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

lizs-serviceberry-sep16-1

 

This picture shows a monarch butterfly on a zinnia under the serviceberry.  Sightings of these have been the cause of much excitement in recent weeks, and it’s been encouraging to see them along with swallowtails, and other insects, on flowers in the public gardens that I help take care of.

 

Thanks to Mike for letting me guest post here and to Pat, The Squirrelbasket,  for hosting Tree Following.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Tree Following, September 2016 – Liz’s serviceberry

  1. Thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Jo says:

    I think I’d be dropping my leaves in that heat too. What a lovely variety of butterfly, I haven’t seen many butterflies around here this year but my sedum has just come in to flower and already I’ve seen more, it really does attract them.

    • Liz says:

      Jo, the heat and lack of rain persist. We’re almost at the end of the fourth week without a drop. The plants are under such stress. The monarch is in the “endangered” area. This is due in large part to loss of their natural habitat to big agriculture, to the use of herbicides, and to climate change. So, there is a movement to plant to attract them. Thanks, Liz

  3. Lovely snapshot in the year of your tree.
    And monarch butterflies are really something, aren’t they?
    All the best 🙂

    • Liz says:

      Pat, I feel so sorry for the flora under stress due to excessive heat and drought. The serviceberry seems to be particularly susceptible this year. Yes,,the Monarchs are gorgeous and I’ve been lucky to find them not only in my own garden but elsewhere. Not as many as last year,,unfortunately. Thanks, Liz

  4. Flighty says:

    That’s way too hot for me. It’s the same here with tree leaves turning brown and dropping due to lack of water. Lucky you seeing the monarch and other butterflies, I’ve seen very few recently. xx

    • Liz says:

      Mike, that was a lucky chance, to have the monarch on a zinnia in the vicinity of the serviceberry! Thanks for letting me put my tree on your blog. Liz

  5. Pingback: Tree following link box for September 2016 | The Squirrelbasket

  6. I couldn’t cope with that heat! I’m amazed that any tree can too.. No rain either! Oh my. I’m guessing early mornings and evenings are the best times to garden. Have a great weekend Liz xx

    • Liz says:

      Jenny, you are correct about the early morning/late evening being the best time to garden while the hot weather continues. We did have a couple of hours of rain on Saturday afternoon, which brought some relief (to plants and people), but today (Monday), the heat index is up again! Thanks, Liz

Leave a Reply

