Parakeets!

I often see, and hear, ring-necked parakeets flying over the allotments, occasionally on them and once a couple chomping on my sunflowers.

On Wednesday morning I was amazed to see at least ten on plot neighbour Fran’s sunflowers that I showed here a couple of weeks ago.

parakeets-on-frans-sunflowers

Eight can be seen in the picture above, and here are a couple of closer pictures.

one-parakeet-on-a-tall-sunflower   two-parakeets-on-a-tall-sunflower

ragged-sunflower-headI stood and watched them for quite some time before moving over to my plot.  Whilst there I saw one bird chomping away on my tall single sunflower. This is what it looked like afterwards.

 

I appreciate that these birds can be pests, especially when flocks strip fruit trees, but they’re amazing to see like this.

As far as plotting goes I did very little last week, and my few visits tended to be mostly just pondering and pottering.  It was damp and dull all day yesterday but today and all next week looks like being dry, sunny and warm.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Parakeets!

  1. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Elaine says:

    I know they are becoming quite a nuisance in some areas and they look so alien amongst all our native birds, but as you say they are fascinating to watch, the poor old sunflowers took a beating !

  3. Carrie Gault says:

    Wow, how unusual to see. Sorry about your sunflower but how fabulous to have fed a life/lives with a flower 🙂

  4. Liz says:

    How fascinating! I don’t think I’ve seen a ring-necked parakeet.

  5. Andy says:

    We have some around us but I rarely see them. I’d enjoy seeing them more but I would get annoyed at the damage I think since I’d want to feed the native wild birds. As long as they stay as a small minority I think it’ll be OK and a welcomed sight.

  6. Jo says:

    That must be an amazing sight, especially when so many of them are together. The forecast here is really good for next week, I hope it doesn’t change at the last minute as it so often does.

  7. menhir1 says:

    This is where ‘awesome’ really applies! I heard a radio 4 discussion about Parakeets, (last week I think it was) as part of current UK bird wild life development, seen, as your pictures show, very much in urban areas. Breeding is as the result of escapees from domestic capture, it appears. Though very interesting just how much they like particular kinds of food, Sunflowers obviously being one subject for a Parakeet treat, what will other unintended consequences of their introduction be. I did not pick up any sense of concern ….yet. Hopefully, there won’t be.

    I guess that Sunflowers having reached their zenith of blooming are probably more useful in the bird food chain as well as on the compost heap. No doubt, there will be some Sunflower growth appearing in interesting places by accidental and incidental propagation.

    The Parakeets do look adorable, rogues often do. 🙂 Very interesting post with splendid pics.

    xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I agree. Thanks for your interesting comment about these birds. They like fruit which is a problem in some areas as flocks do strip trees.
      The seeds have been scattered everywhere so I’m sure you’re right and new plants will be appearing next year.
      They do indeed. Thanks. xx

  8. CJ says:

    They’re fantastic birds aren’t they. How lovely to see them so close up. And great that they have the sunflower seeds to eat. CJ xx

  9. Lovely looking birds, but am sure they could become pests after a while! X

  10. Doris says:

    Great pictures of these amazing birds, Flighty!

  11. Jo says:

    Goodness, what an unusual sight! I get excited when goldfinches visit the feeders, I wonder what I would be like should a parakeet turn up x

  12. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, what a sight indeed! Looks like they’ve had plenty to eat and choose from. Are they very noisy (besides the chomping!)? We get green parrots from Mexico and while they don’t strip fruits or flowers (that I’ve noticed anyway), they are a raucous bunch, squawking and warbling as they flap from tree to tree.

  13. snowbird says:

    That certainly is a sight to savour! Fantastic that you got to see them, they are beautiful exotic birds, I do worry about their future though as they are being flagged as a future problem. It would be awful if a cull started. I did enjoy this!xxx

  14. annie_h says:

    Great to see more pictures, certainly fascinating to watch. They certainly enjoy sunflowers!

  15. Matt says:

    Wow, we get very few birds in our garden (thanks to the neighbourhood cats, I think) and certainly no parakeets.

  16. Amazing how adaptive the creatures are in our world, it looks like they are really flourishing.

Leave a Reply

