It’s now autumn…

which is a time of year that I like, and on cue a robin appeared on Friday being the first one that I’ve seen in a while.

Beetroot 'Boltardy'

 

I sowed some beetroot, carrot and dwarf French bean seeds in early July of which only the first germinated and grew.  The two short rows have done well and I lifted these these, larger than a golf ball, ones during the week. They’re the popular variety Boltardy.

 

Potatoes 'Lady Christl'

 

I also planted out some first early potatoes Lady Christl which I’m not expecting to lift until October but checking through the plants on Friday I found these three just under the surface.  The one at the bottom right is about the size of a large egg.

 

 

Tomatoes 'Golden Sunrise'

 

 

I sorted out the tomato plants and was surprised at how much fruit there was on the them. To give them a chance of ripening I’ve stripped out some of the branches and leaves to expose them to the sun.  These are some good size Golden Sunrise.

 

 

The pink cosmos that I mentioned and showed a month ago is still flowering profusely. Yesterday I found that a branch had  broken off so I cut the flowers for home.

Pink cosmos

There was some welcome rain yesterday evening, and the week ahead looks like being dry and sunny with temperatures reaching 25C/77F  by mid-week.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to It’s now autumn…

  1. Nichola says:

    Flighty your veg looks wonderful!! Nice to see the cosmos still shining too! Hope Autumn is kind to you. Look forward to seeing what you get up to 🙂 xx

  2. All your produce looks cracking, I totally ran out of room this year for beetroot…

  3. Good morning Flighty, I was only thinking the same yesterday on how autumnal everywhere feels. I love this time of year too, watching everything change colour and making way for new plants for next year. X

  4. Stunning thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  5. Chloris says:

    I never thought of sowing veg in July, it has paid off for you. Lovely beetroot.

  6. CJ says:

    Beetroot are quite reliable aren’t they and always good to have. Lovely that the robin is back, no doubt I will see mine very soon. Wishing you a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    There’s a lot of developing going on at a time when you mostly think about harvesting. As you have mentioned, growth has been out of usual patterns. Your potatoes look very edible. Now you’ve exposed them, your tomatoes may make a really happy munchable bunch. What do you do with the beetroots?

    xxx

  8. Liz says:

    Your vegetables are impressive and all those cosmos from one broken stalk!
    It’s hard to believe September is upon us. We’re entering the third week of high 80s, low 90s with NO rain. it will be nice when the temperatures feel like autumn.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, and there were nine flowers on that branch. It sure is. Oh my, that’s not good. I hope that you get some rain and the temperature drops somewhat. xx

  9. Jo says:

    I’m hanging on to summer for as long as I can so I’m not acknowledging autumn until the 22nd, and even then it will be begrudgingly. My tomatoes haven’t done all that well this year, I’ve had a decent crop off the Bloody Butchers but the Maskotkas are very slow to ripen, I think I shall do as you’ve done this week and strip the leaves from the plants. Your cosmos look lovely, it’s a treat to bring some home to display indoors.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo i think that we all do that, even those of us who like autumn. That’s a shame, I think that ripening has been a problem for many. They do indeed, and next year I may even cut some to bring home more often. xx

  10. Andy says:

    Slow down there. I haven’t finished with summer yet 🙂 I’ve just been camping and although the nights felt like Autumn the days were still summer and the BBQ still worked.

  11. snowbird says:

    It’s good to hear of late sowings coming to fruition, and good for you spreading the news. My beetroot is awful this year. Loved the cosmos, still waiting for my one surviving plant to flower!xxx

  12. Jo says:

    Good news about the potatoes, I have three pots to get through then I’m done until next year. x

  13. princessines says:

    Note to myself…I need to be a more patient gardener like Flighty…I harvested my potatoes far too early….all edible but they could have done with a couple more weeks…..same with beetroots….I’m now waiting on the second batch ….thanks for sharing

    • Flighty says:

      Princessines I generally wait for the foliage to start dying back before lifting any potatoes. I try to lift beetroot when small, little more than the size of a golf ball. You’re welcome. xx

      • princessines says:

        mine were definitely dead…perhaps my impatience is at the other end….I start everything too early…like the irish gang at the allotments were at least 3 weeks behind me and they should know 😉

  14. annie_h says:

    Yes there is a definite autumnal feel in the garden and its darker now in the mornings when I’m going to work, but I’m with you I love this time of year. So gentle and lovely light. You feel like you must make the most of your time in the garden. Lovely post.

  15. plot34 says:

    I still can’t get the fork in the ground to lift my Charlottes! Marvellous harvest – makes the effort worthwhile.

  16. nikkipolani says:

    I had a feeling you’d be looking forward to autumn! Your harvest looks beautiful. Roomie and I were just enjoying a beetroot salad with some feta and pickled red onions. I’m very sad to say that many of my cosmos seedlings (including the ones that sprouted from what you’d sent) had been mowed down by some bug. Some zinnias have survived and a few pot marigolds.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’ve obviously mentioned before that I like this time of year. Thanks. That sounds tasty. What a shame about your cosmos. Good to see some flowers have survived. xx

Leave a Reply

