It’s been mostly dry and sunny…

this week so I’ve been making the most of it.  A couple of days I spent well over an hour dead-heading and pruning the pot marigolds which are still flowering and have plenty of buds showing as can be seen in this picture.

Two Flighty's favourites pot marigolds

Surprisingly the nasturtiums have revived having grown and flowered again.

Red nasturtium  Yellow nasturtium

As there’s been virtually no rain I watered all round this morning rather than just the climbing beans and tomatoes.  I then cut the comfrey and added it to the compost heap. That’s the second time I’ve done it this year and hope to do so again before the winter as it does grow back quickly.

On Sunday I should be collecting the crocus and narcissi that I recently ordered so next week I’ll be digging up the existing ones, which are going to a good home,  and getting the ground ready to plant out all these new ones.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It’s been mostly dry and sunny…

  1. Blessing and thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. princessines says:

    as a complete beginner when it comes to flowers I really appreciate your posts….a proper lesson 😉 …thanks for sharing

  3. Liz says:

    Those pot marigolds and nasturtiums are pretty. I need to cut my comfrey back too.
    When will you plant your new bulbs?

  4. Jo says:

    I can’t believe it’s that time of year already when we’re thinking of planting spring bulbs, I’m looking forward to hearing about the varieties you’ve chosen this time. In the meantime, your summer flowers are still putting on a lovely show.

  5. CJ says:

    I think my growing spaces could have done with a bit of water today as well. I’m relying on there being some rain tomorrow instead! CJ xx

  6. Jo says:

    It’s raining as I type here so that will save me a job. My marigolds are all but over save a few stragglers! I’ve seen some mixed bulbs locally for sale so will, pop in for a small sack of them. Wishing you a pleasant weekend x

  7. Carrie Gault says:

    As much as I like September the idea of bulbs and of spring is so very exciting. It’s the whole winter bit that I’m not fond off xx

  8. snowbird says:

    I put some bulbs in recently, it’s always lovely to think of spring blooms. Your flora is just lovely! xxx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness, is it already time for fall planting?!? Do any of the bulbs naturalize for you or do you lift the lot?

Leave a Reply

