Sunday smiles

This morning is breezy and dull with some showers due after lunch, which is typical for an August Bank Holiday Sunday.  Just before I reached the allotment gates this morning I met Milo, a nine week old brindled collie/staffie cross puppy.  He lives in the flats that overlook the site so I’m sure I’ll be meeting, and making a fuss of, him again.

All I did was pick some blackberries, climbing beans and tomatoes as well as do some watering.   There’s still been hardly any significant rain here, and not much forecast so the ground remains cracked and dry.

TomatoesI’m really surprised that I’ve been picking as many tomatoes as I have given the poor start they had in soggy ground.  I’ve also been taking off what I’m sure are blighted leaves over the past couple of weeks.   This picture shows two Golden Sunrise,  an Outdoor Girl flanked by two Gardener’s Delight and the last four Tiny Tim off the window sill plant.

Yesterday Caro over on her Urban Veg Patch blog did this really informative post about tomatoes which is well worth reading.

 

Cosmos 'Purity'All the cosmos are still flowering profusely.

Cosmos 'Velouette'

 

Here’s another excellent Guardian picture article – Great British allotments –  which is worth looking at.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sunday smiles

  1. Julieanne says:

    My 1000 litre water butt is full, so you are welcome to the rest of our rain for your allotment 🙂

    Your tomatoes look good. I’ve just grown one tiny tom type in a basket, which I’ve not been good at looking after. Despite this, it’s now producing a few tomatoes! But yours look much better.

  2. Jo says:

    We had a lot of rain yesterday and there’s still more forecast, as you say, typical bank holiday weather. Your tomatoes look great, my Maskotka really haven’t got going yet but I’m getting plenty off the Bloody Butchers.

  3. Allotmental says:

    Lovely update. I got to the plot and its been raining quite heavily. Suns just popped out 1155am 😃

  4. Liz says:

    Your tomatoes look great! I wish mine had done half as well. How are your cosmos Xanthos doing? I sowed the ones you sent me in the neighborhood butterfly garden and take scissors worth me to deadhead and keep them blooming. They’re so pretty.
    Welcome, Milo!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, and they taste as good as they look. I gave all my seed away this year, but will be growing them again next year. Good to see yours are doing well. They sure are.
      He’ s a lovely, and lively, puppy. xx

  5. Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  6. Jo says:

    I think we had a bit of rain the other night. I’ve been expecting some today but it hasn’t arrived. Your tomatoes are looking good, mine have just about finished so the plants will be coming out over the next two weeks. Happy gardening this week xx

  7. Andy says:

    We’ve been rather dry this year and even though the 5 or 6 water butts have filled a few times since spring I have topped them up with tap water 8 or so times plus I’ve had to use the sprinkler. I find it worth while investing time giving everything a good soak once a week. The other year I studied how much water nature used and how much difference a good watering makes and so this year I have concentrated on watering properly and yields are up a lot.

    Your tomatoes look good and I’m a convert to Cosmos as the flowering season is long and they are very showy 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Andy good for you. I only water all round the plot weekly if there’s been no rain, otherwise just as needed for the beans and tomatoes.
      Thanks. Well done, they really are such good flowers. Cheers.

  8. One day I will grow tomatoes Flighty.. Xx

  9. Chloris says:

    At last we had some rain in the night, the first for weeks. Those tomatoes look luscious. I enjoyed the Guardian article.

  10. A great article. I so hope the land won’t be sold off. I understand the need for housing, but with gardens getting smaller people still need wide open spaces to grow and have contact with the soil. Most importantly who knows what the future may bring we might have to feed ourselves by growing our own. I need more rain too. I had a good crop of onions, potatoes, marrows, the beans are still doing me proud, but the tomatoes are taking their time to ripen.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula hello, I agree with all you say about that article. It looks like being dry here all week. Well done, it sounds like a good harvest. It seems that we’ve all had the same problem with tomatoes this year. xx

  11. menhir1 says:

    It is lovely to obtain a nice harvest, (given the weather conditions earlier in the year) from your labours. I do wonder, even if this goes against accepted wisdom, if the earlier natural soaking may have helped the plants store up some moisture reserves.

  12. snowbird says:

    I’m glad you are reaping tomatoes, mine are a dismal failure. Caro’s post certainly was informative, who knew there were so many issues with tomatoes! Milo sounds lovely, what an interesting mix, I wonder what will win out, the collie, which is a powerful instinctive breed, or the loyal, friendly staffy! Your cosmos are lovely, I wish mine had done well but sadly an awful year for those here too! xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks, what a shame about yours. It’s a really good post. He sure is, and I think he might be more collie in looks but staffie in temperament. Again thanks, and what a shame. xx

  13. Shamini says:

    Those tomatoes are such nice colours together. Hope they taste good as well! And I do like cosmos.

  14. Those tomatoes look lovely, Flighty. Enjoy!

  15. nikkipolani says:

    What gorgeous tomatoes! I’d torn out the tomato (cherry, I think) that the birds planted because it had gotten so scrubby and messy looking. I thought some of the fallen fruit would generate new plants, but, alas, none. So no home-growns for me 😦

Leave a Reply

