Further to Sunday’s post…

I got the new desktop PC on Tuesday so spent the afternoon and evening setting it up and getting used to Windows 10.  I was relieved to find that I had no problems and just a few minor niggles that I’ve since resolved.

Hydrangea

 

It’s been warm the past couple of days, reaching 30C/80F yesterday, so I’ve been going to the plot early and mostly pottered for a couple of hours.

The hydrangea is looking okay but it’s really in the wrong place so I’ll be moving it next spring to where I hope it will do better and flower, which it hasn’t done so far.

 

 

Ice plant

 

The ice plant (sedum spectabile) is doing well and I’m looking forward to it flowering soon, and attracting  some butterflies. This is another plant that needs moving, which I’ll also do in the spring.

 

 

 

I have to say that I’m a touch envious of plot neighbour Fran’s tall single sunflowers, one of which is over ten feet high.

Fran's tall single sunflowers

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Further to Sunday’s post…

  1. menhir1 says:

    It looks like neighbour Fran is having great fun with her sunflowers. It also means that you can really enjoy them too. “A meal always tastes better if cooked by someone else”. Mayhap the same idea can apply to flower growing.

    Delighted you are up and running with your new computer system and with niggles resolved. Your other bushy plants look interesting. At this stage, it must be easier to see how they will sit and fare in another location.

    xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir she always grows sunflowers. I think that you could be right as I certainly enjoy the flowers that she, and others, grow.
      Thanks, so am I. I’m hoping that both plants will look, and do, better elsewhere. xx

  2. I’ve struggled a bit with Windows 10 so I appreciate the news that it has gotten better, love the sunflowers they are gorgeous.

  3. Blessing, thank you for sharing Flighty

  4. Jo says:

    Glad to hear that you’ve had no major problems with Windows 10. I think lots of issues have occurred when people have upgraded to Windows 10, it doesn’t seem such a problem if it’s already installed on a new PC. My sedum is at the same stage, I can’t wait for it to flower, it really does attract lots of bees and butterflies.

  5. Liz says:

    Glad your new PC is up and running.
    Decisions! Where to put things? It’s amazing how a change of place can make such a difference to a plant’s growth.
    My sedums are in bloom. They are such useful flowers this late in the season.
    90s here and no rain.
    The sunflowers look wonderful.

  6. plot34 says:

    Sunflowers against a bright blue sky; the perfect combination.

  7. Jo says:

    I’m glad the computer set up went well. I moved ice-plants last year from the back garden to the front and they are flourishing now. x

  8. karen says:

    Glad your new setup is working well. Those sunflowers are amazing. I must say, ours have been so disappointing this year. Slugs got the first lot, then we were flooded, and now the final plants are only 2 ft tall. Will try harder next year. Have a great weekend, Mike x

  9. Caro says:

    What a lovely optimistic post! I like to see what other people are growing on their plots as well, there’s a row of sunflowers that I walk past on the way to my plot share, I always find it so cheerful!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks, that’s kind of you to say. Me too, so I generally take a wonder round the site once a week. It’s always good to see sunflowers. xx

  10. dunelight says:

    Those tall sedum do so well for me here, sandy soil, moderating influence of Lake Effect and they don’t mind a bit of overwatering because they are next to my beloved tall phlox and others. I had a variety that bloomed small flowers on the head for 2-3 weeks then finished to seed heads I left out all winter. I traded them out for a variety from my Dad’s old farm that had spectacular heads…but alas only for a week and the spent heads looked right ratty.

    What type of soil do you have?

    • Flighty says:

      Dunelight thanks for your interesting comment. I don’t know much about them so will have to read up.
      It’s clay here in London so tends to get soggy in winter and like concrete in summer. xx

  11. We were heading to our local ‘Show’ today and admired some sky high sunflowers from a garden near the show ground. Your lovely post just reminded me of it. Enjoy the rest of your weekend Flighty xx

  12. snowbird says:

    Glad all is well with the new computer. Those are lovely sunflowers! xxx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Hmmm, does Fran let her sunflowers go to seed? Maybe some will land in your plot! Good news on the computer front. I’m not fond of adjusting to new software…

Leave a Reply

