For the past few months…

I’d been pondering getting a replacement desktop PC as mine has become increasingly niggling to use, is getting ever noisier and runs the no longer supported Windows XP.

I should be collecting a brand new, reasonably cheap, one tomorrow which will be the first one that’s not been second-hand. Using Windows 10 will be a quantum leap but I’m hoping that it won’t be too problematic bearing in mind the experiences some people have had.  All being well I hope to be plot posting as usual on Thursday.

As well as getting that I’d also decided to get a laptop and after long deliberation I recently acquired an Acer Chromebook 13.  It’s the first non desktop PC that I’ve used so it’s taken a while to get used to the touchpad rather than a mouse, and it’s totally silent which is rather pleasing.  I  have a Google account which made setting it up a doddle. There are some limitations which I was aware of  before buying.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to For the past few months…

  1. Sue Garrett says:

    Must admit I still like to attach a mouse to our laptop when I can. 🙂

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Good luck with the new kit! I use Windows 7 on a laptop. I have avoided upgrading to Windows 10 because of all the bad things I have heard about it. However the people at Google are doing their best to ensure that their products are as incompatible as possible with everything from Microsoft, in an attempt to persuade us all to move to Chrome. 😦

  3. Jo says:

    It’s a while now since we did away with the desktop, I’m really not one for change and wondered how I’d get on with just a laptop but I haven’t missed the desktop at all. I actually prefer the touchpad rather than the mouse but Mick uses his laptop at the table so that he can use a mouse with his. Hope you have fun getting it all set up and working out those new features that come with an upgrade.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I guess that desktops will disappear completely in a few years. It interesting to see how people prefer one or the other. Thanks, I’ll be happy to get it up and running then take my time looking at all the features. xx

  4. Liz says:

    In many ways, I’m still a Luddite, reading hard copies of newspapers and books and magazines. I still handwrite a lot too. But, it’s amazing how computers have made themselves indispensable to us. Here, I’m using an iPad and I have a Mac desktop that I could not do without.
    So, enjoy your new desktop (and are you still managing to do without a mouse on your laptop?)

    • Flighty says:

      Liz good for you. I still read books and magazines but look at newspapers online. I still like to handwrite even though my arthritis is starting to affect doing that. It sure is, and it seems that none of us can now do without them.
      Thanks, and yes I’ve not used a mouse yet. xx

  5. VP says:

    Good luck with your techie adventures! I won’t be using Windows 10 until I need to replace my laptop – I think that’s a simpler approach to what I’ve heard from people who’ve tried to upgrade their existing kit. I love not working with a mouse – I have less RSI complaints these days, all that clicking was a real pain… literally.

  6. Jenny says:

    Glad you decided on a chromebook as well. Mike. From what I’ve read of reviews of that one, it seems like a good buy. I have a Toshiba chromebook 2 (2014 one) and I love it. Also, they will be getting Play Store at the end of this year/beginning of next, so will be more versatile. I believe that clean installs of Windows 10 (which is what you will have) are fairly problem free. Good luck anyway.

  7. I like mice… 🙂 Windows 10 isn’t scary…

  8. menhir1 says:

    Diving into new IOS’s is almost like buying a new shed with work tools provided and already installed. You have to find your way in and check on the tools, where they are etc, after which, you re-site them how it suits your workflow.

    MS are currently working hard, I hear, to overcome their massive P.R faux pas with all the platforms downloads from Windows 8 onward. (Hubby, who is content with Windows 7, had a costly raw deal with MS shenanigans). It sounds like you may have selected the best time to take the leap. All the best with the sorting and the settling in.

    Being an Apple user,I have no idea what a Chrome Book is, but it sounds like you are enjoying it. XX

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’d be happier with a new shed with tools provided! I’m sure I’ll cope okay.
      Yes they’ve certainly done themselves no favours have they. Thanks.
      I am that, and have found it surprisingly easy to get used to. xx

  9. wellywoman says:

    Enjoy the new computer. Hopefully you won’t be troubled by Windows 10. My computer now has a hissy fit every couple of months when the icons along the bottom disappear and I can’t easily flip between programs. If you have any problems ask Ian as he’s managed to find a fix, albeit a temporary one. Sounds like you’re enjoying the laptop. 🙂 xx

  10. CJ says:

    Good luck with your new computer, I hope it proves easy to set up. I live in fear of the day I have to get a replacement laptop. CJ xx

  11. snowbird says:

    I hope you are enjoying your new lappie. I avoid change being something of a technophobe, windows 10 upgraded itself on my lappie a few months ago and caused chaos, hubs ended up removing it.xxx

  12. Jo says:

    I have a touch screen laptop Mike. I do use a separate mouse with it though. I’ve not upgraded to windows 10 though. Have fun setting your new toys up x

  13. karen says:

    Good luck with the new setup. Have fun! x

  14. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness, you’ve really jumped in with both feet! I have to tell you, I HATE the track pad. It’s always in the way when I type. My laptop has a touch screen, but I much prefer a mouse, albeit a cordless one.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I sure have, but glad I did. I’m really surprised at how easy I’ve found the track pad to use. I think that a touch screen and cordless mouse will have to wait until I replace these. xx

Leave a Reply

