In contrast to…

Cracked and drytwo months ago when the plot was really soggy the ground is now bone dry. I’ve lost my weeding knife during the week and I’m wondering if it’s  fallen down one of the numerous cracks. The forecast is for some heavy rain tomorrow which is much needed.

 

Potato 'Kestrel'I’m now picking plenty of climbing French beans Cobra and runner beans St. George, but leaving the Borlotti beans for later.   All the onions Sturon are up and at home drying prior to storing to use over the coming months.  This is the biggest potato, a second early Kestrel, that I’ve dug up so far.  The various tomatoes are starting to ripen but I’m picking blighted leaves off the plants.

Cornflowers

 

A few cornflowers (centaurea cyanus) appeared this year although I didn’t sow any.  They are lovely flowers and I’m planning on growing the dwarf variety Polka Dot en masse next year.

 

My plot neighbour Fran has grown this rather striking looking cosmos bipinnatus Pied Piper Red on her plot.  I’ve asked her to save some seed so I can grow it next year.

Cosmos 'Pied Piper Red'

As I mentioned on Sunday it was National Allotment Week last week butI saw surprisingly few mentions about it even on the various allotment forums.   The Guardian did this good article, Growing together – an allotment picture essay, which is well worth looking at.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to In contrast to…

  1. Lovely update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. CJ says:

    I shall have a look at the Guardian picture essay, I like to see different people on their plots. You’re right about it being dry, no rain for ages. But it is supposed to rain all day tomorrow and some of Saturday so that should sort things out. Love that cosmos, as you say it’s very striking. Wishing you a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. It’s raining here today, which is good to see. It’s a most unusual cosmos isn’t it. Thanks, and you too. xx

  3. karen says:

    That’s an enormous potato. My plot looks the same as yours. I’m hoping for rain tomorrow. Have a good weekend. xx

  4. Charlotte says:

    Crikey, those are big cracks! Lovely looking cosmos though. Enjoy your weekend!

  5. The cornflowers are really pretty, i shall make a note of their name, and the cosmos too! It’s bone dry here too, might have to do a little rain dance for us both later xx

  6. Jo says:

    The ground is so dry here too at the moment but we’re also forecast rain for the next couple of days, it’s much needed. What a fabulous cosmos, I’ve never seen a colour like that before, it’s very striking. I haven’t heard any mention of National Allotment Week, I think the grow your own craze has definitely died down which is a real shame. Sites which had huge waiting lists just a few years ago now can’t get anyone to take empty plots on.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it seems that most of us are suffering, and in need of rain. It certainly is. It always seems to have been a somewhat low-event. I think that you’re right, and agree with what you say. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    Goodness, those cracks are enormous. Our ground is just as dry but being sand doesn’t crack like that. No doubt your knife will reappear one fine day!
    That is a good sized potato, and a lovely unusual cosmos.xxx

  8. Liz says:

    The cracks in the dry ground look as though could swallow a lot, including weeding knife.
    What an unusual cosmos, have never seen anything like it before.
    The Guardian article on Allotment week is excellent. The first picture under “meet the people” – the woman’s jeans look just like mine! Is the Allotment Shop the same as your Horticultural Shed?

    • Flighty says:

      Liz that’s why I try to be careful when I’m plotting where they are.
      It really is most unusual, and neither have I.
      I’m glad you like it. How about that! Yes the same, or very similar. xx

  9. Jo says:

    I shall have a look through the article later. There is a possibility of Mike and I aquiring our own allotment soonish. Shame about the knife I hope you find it x

  10. Chloris says:

    I know we are promised rain but I shall believe it when I see it. I love that Cosmos. I saw The Guardian allotment article. It is great that so many young people are turning to growing their own food. I shall look out for Cobra next year.

    • Flighty says:

      Choris it’s been raining here today, and hope the forecast for that has proved right. Good for you. It’s always good to see youngsters doing that. They’re a good choice. xx

  11. annie_h says:

    I have cracks like that too and like you so very surprising after such a soggy start to the year. We are having some proper heavy rain today which is much needed! You can almost hear the garden sighing. That picture essay is so lovely isn’t it. Hope you get some rain too.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie it seems to have a year for extreme ground conditions doesn’t it. It’s been raining here but not heavily. Yes it’s really good. Thanks. xx

  12. plot34 says:

    I thought it was just me with soil that could grow grand canyon-esque cracks. It has just stopped raining here, so I’m hopeful of being able to dig up some potatoes tomorrow.

    Thanks for sharing the Guardian article.

  13. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Wow, some of that cosmos bipinnatus would look great on your plot, Flighty.

  14. menhir1 says:

    Oooh, that Pied Piper Red Cosmos is stupendous. We could all do with a little of it.
    Nice potato.
    When clay soil dries right out there is no denying just how dry it is. It provides the evidence in no uncertain terms.

    XXX

  15. Your cracked ground is looking exactly as my garden borders are. Impossible to get a fork in presently I too am looking forward to the rain effect. Amazing cosmos. Off to read the article you mention

  16. wellywoman says:

    We’ve finally had some decent rain this weekend, so I hope it’s made it over to you too. It’s been an odd summer. It hasn’t felt especially summery over here and yet it’s been so dry. I’m thinking about some sort of irrigation system for the allotment next year but of course that will mean it’ll be the wettest year on record. 😉 Our spuds have been huge. They were only meant to be salad spuds and yet they’ve been the size of normal potatoes. We dug the last ones up yesterday and we’ve got enough to keep us going for another month or so. 🙂 Love that cosmos. xx

    • Flighty says:

      Welly hello. There was rain here but it doesn’t seem to have had much impact. Yes, I agree it has. That sounds interesting. Well done with the potatoes, mine haven’t done well this year which is not surprising. Me too. xx

  17. dunelight says:

    Ahhh, I love Cosmos..I haven’t planted any in the new gardens. I too am always amazed at what grows voluntarily, probably borne by birds that come to my feeders. Bachelor Buttons are so hardy.

    • Flighty says:

      Dunelight me too, especially the white ones Purity. Most years a surprise plant or two generally appears. We tend to just call them cornflowers here in the UK. xx

Leave a Reply

