Tree Following, August 2016

Liz,  in Lexington Kentucky,  isn’t doing a post this month as she says that her serviceberry has hardly changed since last month.

Last month Andy, The Field, commented on my post that The best thing to do with oak leaves is to make oak leaf wine,  especially those young leaves.  I replied that I’m not a wine drinker but that’s interesting and not something that I’ve heard of before.   He further commented A surprisingly good wine that cleared quickly and was drinkable without ageing. Stinks a bit when boiling up the leaves though. Well worth a try. Needless to say I went searching and found that there are lots of webpages on how to make it including this one.

I took a close look at the young oak tree on Sunday and was surprised to see acorns are now forming.

Young oak tree, Aug'16 - 2

I will now keep an eye on them to see what happens.  That is unless they’re taken by jays or squirrels.

Some of the leaves are starting to show signs of dying back but that may well be due to a lack of water rather than the time of year.

Thanks to Pat for hosting Tree Following on The Squirrelbasket blog, and do have a look at this comprehensive post to see what it’s all about.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn loungers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tree Following, August 2016

  1. Liz says:

    Oak leaf wine?! I hadn’t heard of that, but remember my daughter when young being employed by friends to pick baskets of dandelions for winemaking. So, I suppose most anything can be transformed into wine or ale.
    Your oak leaves look fresh and green and — surprise — acorns, after an inauspicious start. Meanwhile, my serviceberry is slowing down in this hot, muggy August.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz nor me, but I do know people who’ve made dandelion wine. I guess you’re right.
      They’re mostly that dark glossy green. I’m not surprised, I think I would too in weather like that. xx

  2. snowbird says:

    Those acorns are just lovely! Oak leaf wine? Goodness me, I’m off to see how it’s made, I haven’t heard of it.xxx

  3. Jo says:

    It’s looking lovely adorned with acorns. It’s surprising just what you can make wine from, isn’t it?

  4. Interesting about the wine, although I dare say you can make wine from anything, even old socks, if you put your mind to it!
    I am hugely jealous of your perfect shiny acorns. My old oak has NONE.
    Thank you for sharing – and best wishes to Liz 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Pat it certainly is, and I’m sure you’re right but that’s not something I’d ever like to taste.
      I was really surprised to see them. That’s a shame, are you sure they’re not hiding.
      You’re welcome, and thanks. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    I’ve always liked acorns. There are few oaks in this area, so I rarely see them.

  6. Pingback: Tree following link box for August 2016 | The Squirrelbasket

  7. dunelight says:

    Acorns…lovely..I used to live on an acre plot with several different types of oaks. Now I’m in town there are no oaks but I still seem to be picking up acorns. My neighbor across the street uses a shop vacuum to pick his up. Brilliant really, but he does look odd ‘vacuuming the yard’.

    Also on acorns, we used to frequent a Korean restaurant and brought the owner acorns. I don’t know how they treated them to make them edible for humans but they ended up with a gelatin dessert that was….not my cup of tea. They were FABulous cooks though.

Leave a Reply

