Sunday pottering

Unlike yesterday this morning has been breezy and cloudy so I just spent a couple of hours pottering.

Climbing beans

 

I picked the first few climbing French beans Cobra and runner beans St George.

 

 

Onions 'Sturon'

 

 

I’ve started lifting the onions Sturon which I’m relieved to see are firm around the roots with no sign of softness or white rot. They’re not as big as previous years, or as many.

 

 

Cucumber 'Marketmore'

 

I’m pleased to see that my one cucumber Marketmore not only survived slugs and waterlogged ground but has got flowers on it and one fruit which is about four inches long.

 

Pink cosmos

 

 

I didn’t sow any pink cosmos this year but one plant has appeared which now has well over twenty flowers on it as well as plenty more buds.
Tomatoes 'Tiny Tim'

 

At home I’ve got a tomato Tiny Tim which has twenty fruit on it the first of which is just starting to ripen.

You can see how small they are, being no bigger than my finger tip. Β This is my best effort yet at growing tomatoes on the windowsill.

 

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Sunday pottering

  1. Mark Willis says:

    You’ve got some good stuff there, Mike. “Cobra” is an old favourite of mine too – the pods are often bigger than Runners.

  2. Nichola says:

    That’s all looking great Flighty!! Love a little bit of a sneaky cosmos worming it’s way back in! Have a great week xx

  3. Andy says:

    Those Onions look good, mine didn’t fair to well. The Marketmore cucumber is about the size you are supposed to pick isn’t it? Mine are that size and aren’t sizing up any more so I’ve been picking them that size. Had 4 so far with another 6 to pick tomorrow from 4 plants.

    • Flighty says:

      Andy those ones were but plenty of others were much smaller. You’re probably right so I picked it this morning. It sounds like yours are doing well. Cheers.

  4. Carrie Gault says:

    Oh what a great haul from your lovely plot. And what a happy sight to see a healthy, if cheeky pink cosmos πŸ™‚
    I’m venturing out to ours today for a while, I’ll write about it of course but I have a feeling we too shall have some harvesting xxx

  5. Liz says:

    All that produce must be very satisfying, especially after the wet spring and early summer. Well done and enjoy! The volunteer cosmos is very pretty.

  6. CJ says:

    Brilliant indoor tomatoes. And lovely to see your bonus cosmos. I must grow some Cobra beans next year. This year’s didn’t germinate for some reason, so I’m without French beans at all. No cucumbers to speak of either. I hope you have a good week. CJ xx

  7. Jo says:

    I love your little tomato plant, very cute. I’m looking forward to beans here though I think it will be a couple of weeks yet. x

  8. karen says:

    Those beans look good. Mine have only just started cropping. I love the “free ” cosmos. Doing much better than my cosseted ones.

  9. Jo says:

    Those tomatoes will be ripe before you know it now they’re on the turn, I picked my first three yesterday, lots more to come. It’s very breezy here today and we had some quite wild gusts of wind last night too.

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Looks like you’ll be having some tasty (though small) meals πŸ˜‰

  11. That looks like a very satisfying Sunday potter!

  12. menhir1 says:

    You’re certainly getting results. This is one time, of many, when small is better in respect of the onions. The cucumber looks good. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I sure am, much to my surprise. I’m happy with smaller onions, but should have grown more than I did. And it tastes as good as it looks. xx

  13. snowbird says:

    It’s good to see your harvest. That is a prolific cosmos! I bet those tiny toms are sweet!xxx

  14. Alison says:

    Looks like you’re having a good harvest this year and enjoying all the veggies. xx

  15. Chloris says:

    This is a great time of the year when we can harvest so many good things. Do you recommend Cobra? It’ s a new one to me.

  16. All looking yummy, I am amazed you can grow tomatoes on the window

  17. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Those onions don’t look at all bad, Flighty. You must have had some monsters in previous years!

Leave a Reply

