Flowers, fruit and veg

The forecast for earlier in the week was accurate as it rained from Monday evening right through the night and all day Tuesday.  It was gentle rain which is more beneficial than heavy downpours, which often damage plants.

Crocosmia

 

The crocosmia, or montbretia if you prefer, is now flowering providing a vivid display of flame-orange against the bright green sword-like leaves.

 

 

 

 

Blackberries

 

I’ve started picking a few ripe, juicy blackberries with lots more to come.

 

 

 

Oca foliage

 

All seven oca plants are now about a foot tall and look like this.  I’m looking forward to seeing them flower.

It looks like being dry right into next week so I’ll be plotting on making the most of it.

 

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

 

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Flowers, fruit and veg

  1. thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  2. Andy says:

    Have you eaten Oca? Do you think they are worth it? I have loads and loads as I leave them in a few beds each year that I dig over and just let them grow. Only once have they flowered and I can’t remember what they looked like.

  3. Jo says:

    The crocosmia is looking lovely, I’d never associated it with cut flowers before but it was included in a lovely arrangement left in our holiday cottage for us a few years ago. I’ve never tried either growing or eating oca before so I’m looking forward to hearing more about that.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I think that my mum always cut some. I’m looking forward to seeing how they do, and what they taste like, and will report in due course. xx

  4. Liz says:

    You have so much variety packed into your plot. It never ceases to amaze me! Love crocosmia (my mother always called it montbretia!) enjoy the blackberries and the gentle rain and tell us more about oca.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz I must do an inventory sometime. It is surprising when I think about it. My mum grew it and called it that as well. Thanks, and will do. xx

  5. Carrie Gault says:

    Oh those juicy blackberries, are they destined for greatness in jam, a cake? Or like me do you just pop them in your mouth and enjoy! xxx

  6. Allotmental says:

    I picked some blackberries this evening. Quite early I think? An early winter? Crocosmia Lucifer on my plot 😈

  7. princessines says:

    thanks…now I know the name of the plant which brings me back so many childhood memories…the basque country was and I guess still is full of crocosmias…thank you

    • Flighty says:

      Primcessines you’re welcome. My mum grew it, and it’s seen by the roadside in places like Cornwall so brings back memories for me as well. xx

  8. nikkipolani says:

    What a nice update with some happy summer results! Your crocosmias certainly look happy with unburnt leaves. I thought I dealt with the overcrowding problem by thinning last season, but it seems they are still unhappy.

  9. Jo says:

    Happy gardening Mike, apart from a heavy downpour yesterday the weather is similar here. x

  10. Alarmed. Blackberries. To me they symbolise the arrival of Autumn. Are they wild ones? Or cultivated by you? They sure look yummy!

  11. menhir1 says:

    It never ceases to surprise me how far on your veggies, fruit and flowers are in comparison to ours. At least though, it is more like the six weeks’ difference that it’s supposed to be, as opposed to the twelve weeks’ difference of last year’s growths. My Crocosmia have produced lovely rich leaves, I am looking forward to the flame red blooms appearing. Your Monbretia flower is a slighter bloom, which, when waving in concert with the whole clump, is quite a pretty sight. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it surprises me as well until I realise just how far north you are.
      I hope that you enjoy your crocosmia flowers. As you say it looks good but I could do with more flowers. xx

  12. Oh, you’ve got blackberries already. I’m envious; they’re only just starting to come round here.

Leave a Reply

